Gettin’ Weird in London

6 Sep

The past week has been really fun getting into my classes and settling into the swing of life here in London. I’m trying not to spend as much money as I did in the first 5 days, which I’m doing okay so far. I’m trying to spend 100 pounds per week, which I’m over the budget right now but there are still a lot of one-time expenses I have to buy (like a liter of Bacardi for 14 pounds). That will last me awhile. Honestly though I have been very responsible with my spending so far.

I think last night was the craziest night at Regent’s so far. All of us went to a club for free and most people (including myself) pregamed. I was in a big dancing mood when I got there. After a while, the group I was with decided to leave so we left. I remember we were standing on the sidewalk telling two British guys that we were from Toronto, then we were about to get in a taxi to go home with our friends, but then these two guys invited us to a rooftop bar. Hanna wanted to go and I didn’t want to leave her alone so I went too.

There was a bouncer at the door and at the elevator. One of the guys said his grandfather owned this hotel. We went to the roof and there was a beautiful view of London all lit up. The guys offered to buy us drinks but we declined. The one who was talking to me asked if I had a boyfriend and I said yes so he said he wouldn’t try anything with me. Then I talked about Moritz for a while and told him the story of how we met 😉

This is where we were sitting at this bar.

This is where we were sitting at this bar. (not my pic)

Me and Hanna on the roof

Me and Hanna on the roof

Hanna and I went to the bathroom and came up with a game plan called “Let’s Go Home Now” so she tried to get her guys number as a signal that we wanted to leave. They subsequently called us a taxi, got in with us, got out with us, didn’t offer to pay for it, and followed us into our school. Security is supposed to stop anyone without a student ID and they didn’t even look up when they came in. We wished they would have. The guys followed us into our room. When Megan came home she cozied up with the one who wasn’t with Hanna. The guys declared they were staying the night and would leave at 6am to go to work. They shared my roommates’ beds and it was a little annoying. When they left in the morning today I was pretty happy.

Elsewhere in our school last night, according to our RA and one of our friends, this girl who is always drunk was apparently walking around the guys’ hallway naked. Going door to door. Guess what? That’s my partner for a 20-minute presentation on Marxism in two weeks.

Other than last night, things aren’t too crazy here. There’s always something to do and someone to hang out with. I might go out tonight but only to go somewhere and sit down and talk. Maybe the student bar would be a good place for that.

I miss you guys, G+ soon??

Cathy

P.S. Have any of you gotten a postcard yet??

P.P.S. My London Blog

Leave a Reply

