What If Money Didn’t Matter?

25 Nov

Unless I win the lottery, I don’t plan on ever being super rich. But that’s fine with me I will never be the person who sits in an office cubicle all day doing paper work while counting down the hours until closing time, even if that person makes a 100 grand a year. I believe in putting a job that you like over a job you hate that pay’s well. I don’t make very much money as a lift operator but I love it. I snowboard to and from work, my office is the Rocky Mountains, my fellow employees are awesome and so are the customers that come here, and all day every day all I see is smiling faces not the frown of the cubicle worker who hates their job.

In my opinion to many people work away their youth not traveling, not having hobbies or doing what they love, because they tell themselves they will do it in the future. But then when the future comes something comes up like starting a family and they no longer have the freedom or money to do what they want. My point I am getting at is that every person when fresh out of high school, while they still have no responsibilities, and no debt should decide what to do next with their lives based on what they love to do  and not money.

I wish I had decided to travel and work seasonal jobs right out of high school when I had no bills to pay. But instead I went to college making my decision to come here harder because I now have to pay for that year of college with my very small salary. I intend to finish college but I should have waited to start it until after I am done traveling around working seasonal jobs and doing what I love. When I do go back to college my major will be something I like not just something that pays well. To me money doesn’t matter I will always figure out a way to travel and do what I want without making a 100 grand a year.

So I ask the question, If money didn’t matter what would you do with your life?

Days I Have Snowboarded This Winter: 19

Peace, Love, and Happiness

Live A Little

-Derek

71 Responses to “What If Money Didn’t Matter?”

  1. erinblueglitter November 26, 2012 at 8:00 am #

    If money didn’t matter then i wouldn’t go to college. I would ride out to L.A to persue my dream of being an actress!

  2. audreystyles November 26, 2012 at 10:17 am #

    I would move up to Boston and work at a publishing company while trying to write my many “in-development” novels.

    • chrisman2college November 27, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

      Even if you can’t go to Boston, it would still be cool to publish a novel

      • audreystyles November 28, 2012 at 10:46 pm #

        Heck yeah it would.

  3. vidablogg November 26, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

    I would travel/backpack around the world. My student loans have often make me question my decision to go to college.

    • chrisman2college November 27, 2012 at 5:42 pm #

      Backpacking is something I would like do to and my student loans have me almost completely broke. -Derek

      • vidablogg November 27, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

        I second that on the student loans, such hindrance.

  4. rabbitthots November 26, 2012 at 10:10 pm #

    i am soooo happy to say i would be doing exactly what i am doing!!! i run a community television channel and get to broadcast what i want, when i want…. i get to spread the love…… 😉

  5. sharanpaul1 November 27, 2012 at 2:11 pm #

    OMG! I put everything I wanted to do on hold to raise a family and pay the bills! I am happy for the life I had, but very excited to be doing what I always dreamed of–college! I am the prime example that college will always be there when and if you decide to go! My advice to my daughter: Go tour with your emo/screamo band now. College can wait!

  6. Mind Margins/Run Nature November 27, 2012 at 6:12 pm #

    Always, always, always live your quote at the end of your post and you’ll have a good life. Don’t settle and don’t worship stuff. Live, do what you love, and don’t worry about money. Easier said than done, but find a way to make it happen. Life is short.

    • chrisman2college November 27, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

      Thanks for the advice. Live A Little is my Motto, so far I have been able to do pretty much what ever I want with out that much money, just takes a little creativity.- Derek

  7. Echo December 1, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

    Money no longer matters. I am doing what I love and what I am driven to do by something deeper than a need to survive. And I’m happy.

  8. romiroundtheworld December 2, 2012 at 6:37 pm #

    Well, money doesn´t really matter to me, I´m one of these lucky european girls who just go to different countries with no money and always find a beautiful way of living. If you have time and if you are open for anything, you don´t need money to travel the world. Websites like workaway, couchsurfing, boathitchhiking, etc. make it so easy these days. I´m doing what I love right now and since 15 month, surfing, languages, people, but now I feel like another time of my life is coming, a time to learn something, to work, to earn money for the family I want to have and support well. So even though studying law etc. won´t be a lot of fun compared to the easy, freespirited travellerlife, I´m still looking forward to the different phase of my life 🙂 Enjoy, Romi

  9. Mira Jay December 5, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

    You’ve to do what you love as it’s the only way to enjoy the money you earn in doing whatever you ever wished…
    Excuse me but in my dictionary “what if” exists not…

    Peace & Light

  10. wisdomasigo December 5, 2012 at 11:59 pm #

    Thanks for the follow, your blog is inspiring me to write even more!!!
    I really liked this post, I immediately thought of penny pinching…i dont know why haha 🙂 have a great night

  11. lilypetal91 December 14, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

    My aunt once told me “Whatever you want to do make sure it’s something that makes you want to leap out of bed each day” Nice blog 😉

  12. George Hayward December 19, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

    Great post, and I love the video. I love Alan Watts, he is so intelligent and clear 🙂

  13. kalabalu January 10, 2013 at 9:42 am #

    If money didn’t matter..then boundaries would also be gone and I would like to be in a cable chair for viewing Norway

  14. misskavita January 11, 2013 at 4:10 am #

    So true and I am glad that you realised it early as well. Believe me its not late as many people spend most of their life and regret later..college is good as after a break you might not like sitting n focusing on studies any more…..live life to the fullest..have fun!!

  15. emineyesimaydin January 11, 2013 at 9:41 am #

    “Unless I win the lottery, I don’t plan on ever being super rich. But that’s fine with me I will never be the person who sits in an office cubicle all day doing paper work while counting down the hours until closing time, even if that person makes a 100 grand a year.” That was my idea too.. years ago… I had many fight with my family. I graduated from 2 unviersities. But i wasn’t a person to work in cubicles looking to a computer for hours and getting older there…. Thank you for stopping by my blog, liking it and especially reminding me what a good decision I made for my life 🙂

  16. getpaidverve January 11, 2013 at 4:43 pm #

    Travel for sure!!! There so much to see in this world, that we never get to experience.

  17. jeniknowit January 11, 2013 at 10:39 pm #

    When a friend of mine graduated from college, he and his now wife took off to New Zealand. Growing up could wait just a little bit longer! They lived off peanut butter and crackers, slept in the back of the beat up station wagon they had bought there and worked odd jobs in the towns they passed through. They also had the most amazing time while they were there. You say “I’ll always figure out a way to travel…” Don’t let go of that, it will be true because you will make it true.

    • chrisman2college January 12, 2013 at 10:54 am #

      Traveling around New Zealand sounds awesome, thanks for the advice.
      -Derek

  18. Wonderplanetx January 12, 2013 at 11:44 am #

    Love this post. I’ve been very lucky to have been able to complete my education and travel, but I also ask myself the same question. My dream has always been to be a movie director.

  19. laurabennet January 12, 2013 at 2:45 pm #

    I’d being doing what I’m doing – writing books and enjoying my family. Worrying about money (where to get it, how to live without it, the idea that if we just have enough everything will be great) ends up consuming us and forcing us to live in a very small space. Personally I believe we should always do what we love; I believe God will make a way for us to live being thrilled every day with life! Thanks for great post.

  20. LyannV January 12, 2013 at 8:28 pm #

    SKATE! …with my children, of course. Other than that, I would love to bring many more children into my home, especially as my own grow and leave home. A big happy family full of love for as many children as possible who do not already have that 😀

  21. symatt30 January 13, 2013 at 6:29 pm #

    I’m not working right now as I’m looking after my little baby on my own but when I was working money was important. It kept me alive and on my feet. Not everyone has the luxury to simply travel where they want to whenever they want. However my dream job is to work for an ad agency. Why an ad agency? Because of the creative possibilities, the impact of something you put together on people, the message that you deliver through visuals and text and the general grind of having an exciting job whether it pays well or not. 🙂

    • chrisman2college January 14, 2013 at 4:47 pm #

      I think its awesome that you know exactly what you want to do, and why you want to do it. Good Luck
      -Derek

  22. I’ve “lived” BROKE! Travel’d BROKE! Love’d BROKE! Didn”t eat very often BROKE! Had good-times, bad times, ugly times … BROKE!
    Thanks for the memories!
    Now, I’m a CAPITALIST, and I try to help others THAT-R-BROKE!
    What a life it has, and continues to be … AMAZING!!
    G. 🙂

  23. Kaye January 13, 2013 at 9:54 pm #

    Well, my life is rather simple and I kind of like it that way. I don’t really have any big dreams like traveling. I’d be fine working in an office or cubicle. My hobbies don’t involve a lot of work. They’re called gaming and blogging. I DON’T want to put off college because I already know if I did, I’d never go. It’d be out of my mind forever.

    I’m not materialistic, but as someone who grew up in a family below the poverty line, I don’t really want to be surviving off minimal food. That’s not to say I want to be filthy rich either (in fact, I don’t). Just that I’d rather not be worrying about if I have enough to eat.

    I understand the meaning of your post. I’m just saying some people don’t have any huge dreams or desires and are satisfied with simplicity is all. Working a 9 to 5 job in an office or cubicle is just right for them.

    All that said, my life might not be simple for long. It’s about to get complicated and I’m going to be the cause of it.

  24. nicolekat24 January 14, 2013 at 10:34 am #

    I have to agree with you about loving what you do everyday. IT TRULY CHANGES ONES PERSPECTIVE.

  25. Argus January 15, 2013 at 6:16 pm #

    Your mission (should you decide to accept it) is to print out a copy of your above post, get it laminated (for permanent) then stick it in a safe place for the next thirty-five years. Don’t worry, they very quickly pass—then pull it out and read it through over a coffee. Do it several times.

    I won’t be here, but think of me when you do so, and ask yourself “Why did that silly old poop advise me to do that?” … hopefully you’ll never know.

  26. selfab January 15, 2013 at 7:00 pm #

    I’d still go to college, and even on to grad school to do medical research. I want to cure diseases, it just goes along with my philosophy that doing good feels good.

    And in my offtime I’d write mindfucking novels and sleep around with people who wouldn’t be bothered by my sleeping around with people. (There’s some honesty for you. Ha!)

    • chrisman2college January 15, 2013 at 7:49 pm #

      Ha, Honesty is good. I hope you go on to cure a lot of diseases.

      • uprofessor January 25, 2013 at 10:11 am #

        Sorry for not responding sooner. Thanks for reading my blog. I’ll read your blog to help me figure out what’s going on inside my students’ heads. I subscribed to Rolling Stone Magazine for many years, mainly because it was considered a hip and counterculture mag when I was young. As the mag became thinner and thinner, I realized that it was no longer a source of info relevant to present-day youth culture. I have to rely upon rather scant first-hand sources and what I observe on campus (much of which I find quite confusing and DISTURBING).

        But keep your spirits soaring, your aspirations high, and when you get your first real job, don’t be too offended if you’re expected to work overtime for free. I’m against all that. That’s why I’m a university professor.

        UProf

  27. amyp22 January 15, 2013 at 8:29 pm #

    I taught for several years and loved every minute.

    Quit five years ago to care for our growing family. Family is much older now. I would love to do more community service.

  28. wendygoldhill January 18, 2013 at 7:20 pm #

    Interesting topic. Check out a book I just read…The Man Who Quit Money by Mark Sundeen.

  29. honeydidyouseethat? January 19, 2013 at 9:14 am #

    Well as I am on the other end, recently retired, and having snowboarded over Christmas, (We are one of the oldest boarders on the hills) Notice I did not say to buy the top of the line brands… Thanks for dropping by.

  30. one2onek January 22, 2013 at 3:55 pm #

    Very wise post. In general, avoid debt, live within your means and do what you love. I am not that far removed from college (started in 2005) but if I could go back, there are definitely things I’d do differently.

    “You only get just one time around
    You only get one shot at this
    One chance to find out
    The one thing that you don’t wanna miss
    One day when it’s all said and done
    I hope you see that it was enough
    This one ride, one try, one life to love”
    – 33Miles, “One Life to Love”

  31. Milan of Sydney January 24, 2013 at 6:02 pm #

    if money didnt matter to me, if i dont have bills to pay like rent, phone, internet, and so on i would be able to write every minute of the day without interference and concentrate on just that. unfortunately, money matters and just like you said ‘unless i win jackpot on lottery’ (hope so anyway?)

  32. themofman February 2, 2013 at 9:53 am #

    Excellent post, Derek.

    To me, money matters BUT its never been my highest priority. Clearly you have an admirable sense of responsibility or you wouldn’t even stick to your low paying job to pay back your student loans. That requires money; money matters when you want to live up to your obligations just for the sake of doing that.

    I too don’t make a whole lot of money. I am a dedicated visual artist who supplements his income with a fulltime job that has absolutely NOTHING to do with the arts but pays the vast majority of my bills, and allows me to support my wife. I’ve come across many who gave up on their greatest dreams due to some notion that they developed, or was shoved into their heads, that what their hearts were passionately into was frivolous and not worth pursuing because it wasn’t in a class of careers that is better known for yielding fist-fills of cash for the majority of people who go into it. Some of these people are now the most miserable souls I have ever met. They talk endlessly about growing old, how it sucks, and what they would have; should have, done when they were younger. This is nothing new. I saw this when I was young, and I still see it now.

    When I was young, I decided to balance matters for myself. I pbstinately never gave up pursuing my dreams; despite all of the people who told me to. I continue to pursu them in responsible manners, AND I’m making headway. No, it’s not happening as fast as those who joined the majority in chasing that dollar bill; and there have been times of undeniable struggle but for the most part life has improved as a satisfying pace. A pace in which I can look back with pride and say, “I didn’t accept the easy way out, I took on those challenges and genuinely EARNED my success in a dignified manner.”

    That’s all it took, balancing my efforts and minding my conduct, I don’t walk to the left or the right. Just straight down the middle. Here’s my point:

    https://themofman.wordpress.com/2012/06/08/never-mind-the-starving-artist-stereotype/

  33. The Good Villager February 22, 2013 at 4:50 pm #

    I’d create, run, and live on a massive bee and native plant sanctuary… sigh

    • Derek Neely March 6, 2013 at 9:46 pm #

      As a Wildlife Ecology major I think that sounds awesome!

  34. Ms. Meka February 23, 2013 at 1:05 am #

    Reblogged this on Royal TKO Media CEO Blog and commented:
    Live your life’s passion that is the new tagline for Royal TKO Media. This boosblog post embodies that principle. Enjoy.

  35. realityenchanted March 16, 2013 at 11:35 am #

    Sometimes, it’s about a little consideration or sacrifice because of those depending on you. Except you have an algorithm that matches low income earners with making-a-living or rich spouses. And I’m sure you know there are those who love those kinds of jobs that pay and seem boring to you, no?

    • chrisman2college March 17, 2013 at 10:54 pm #

      My point I was trying to get at is that people should enjoy what they do for a living. I enjoy working fun outdoor jobs even though they pay less but everyone is different and if someone enjoys working a higher paying job even if I might find it boring than that is awesome.
      -Derek

  36. shelbycourtland March 18, 2013 at 10:37 am #

    I absolutely loved this as I am a person with a ‘wanderlust’ spirit. I’ve been ‘wandering’ all over the place since I was 15 and boarded a Trailways bus hellbent on blazing a ‘Trail’ from small town, Virginia to Las Vegas, Nevada to become a showgirl. It didn’t happen, but I’ve never stopped heading from one place to the next. I’m getting set to blaze another trail. I’m keeping my fingers crossed(we southerners are extremely superstitious)that I’ll land on my feet as I’ve always done. Wish me luck! And thanks! I think I read this right on time!!!!

  37. Amethyst March 18, 2013 at 2:07 pm #

    Become an anthropologist and study sub-cultures in my flip-flops, write, start an herbal, all-natural products, play in my herb garden, read and write A LOT more, paint ugly pictures, and put them on my walls…oh what I wouldn’t do with that much free time 😉

    • peak10 March 19, 2013 at 8:47 pm #

      Wow, that was perfectly timed! I’m well past college age, but have traveled some but not as much as I like. I make good money and sit in a cube finding ways to get out of it.
      A friend just invited me to take some time off and go travel. I’m finding a way to make that happen, because I want to look back and say “I lived well”.
      Thanks for the reminder!!

      • Amethyst March 19, 2013 at 8:50 pm #

        We often forget our dreams, the challenge is always in recapturing yourself as you proceed on life’s path. Life is short for our mortal souls so I think we must always be about the business of pursuing what the essence of life means for each of us. That piece of blog writing was a GREAT reminder of that!

  38. As Told By Jordon March 20, 2013 at 8:25 pm #

    I love the video by Adam Watts. I’ve watched it multiple times over the past few months, and it continues to put things into perspective. Great post and continue boarding!

  39. leggypeggy March 25, 2013 at 3:23 am #

    If money didn’t matter, I’d travel and volunteer more!

  40. goforeit March 25, 2013 at 8:06 am #

    Your post struck a nerve with a lot of people based on your comment rate – congrats! I’m guessing I am about 25 years older than you and have grappled with some of the same things over time.

    I too went to college for a year then took time off and got a degree later. My suggestion would be to live every day in the moment but also be open to yourself when you “hear” thoughts coming in that it is time to evolve or change. That is not a failure, it is growth.

    You need not give up who you are or who you want to be in pursuit of money but there are some balance points that you may want to consider. I know many people who are very much a slave to money because they are always worried about it and are barely scraping by. Their ideology of not “chasing money” has backfired a bit for them because they ironically spend more time focussed on money than they would if they have a bit more.

    I don’t have a one sized fits all solution but I’d say this: it is an evolution, it is a balance and ultimately a very personal decision. Keep chewing on it!

    I started to write a longer comment then realized that it was probably better to do it as a blog post. Keep an eye out for “Life Choices” if you’re interested.

  41. The One Who Writes March 25, 2013 at 7:16 pm #

    Wow, it’s truly important to do what you love. I didn’t go to college right away, I started working and doing what I thought I loved. Turns out I didn’t but now I’m sort of stuck with while in school(online courses) but if it wasn’t for school later on, I wouldn’t have realized how much I actually love marketing. I’ve been able to take my love for collaborating with designers and photographers to build up a collaborative project where we shoot what we want. Hopefully that takes off because it’s very fun for me and I enjoy it. I hope to do something bigger with as I learn how to develop it more.

  42. the bloggers soliloquy March 26, 2013 at 8:08 am #

    I enjoyed reading this, but to be fair sometimes you do need money to do the things you enjoy. Can be a bit hard to have one without the other.

  43. ripe red berries March 26, 2013 at 12:22 pm #

    Couldn’t agree more!!

  44. therockabillybutterfly March 26, 2013 at 10:00 pm #

    This is such a great post…very Zeitgeisty. 🙂

  45. babusinessconsulting March 27, 2013 at 11:35 pm #

    I want to live like money does not matter. But make money like those who feel that life does not matter 🙂

  46. youmakeyourown April 5, 2013 at 3:22 pm #

    First thanks for visiting my blog! Second, I think about this question more and more as my 35th birthday approaches. I am discovering more everyday who I am and what I want. I do have my “some day…” but the list of things I am going to do “some day” is getting shorter. I do believe in living everyday to its fullest, but sometimes that means just hanging out on the couch or at the park with my daughter. You are right, working a job you hate just for the money is not a good way to make money. It only ends making people jaded and hateful.

  47. kyrian777 June 1, 2013 at 2:01 pm #

    Thanks for sharing this!

  48. Holistic Wayfarer June 22, 2013 at 3:57 pm #

    Last yr, I heard a radio interview with this guy who quit money. You might want to chk it out. Very interesting.
    http://www.scpr.org/programs/madeleine-brand/2012/03/23/25726/new-book-details-the-life-of-a-man-who-lives-witho

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What If Money Didn’t Matter? « My Life with Christ. - December 5, 2012

    […] What If Money Didn’t Matter?. […]

  2. This do what you desire attitude is… « Elliot's P2 - January 14, 2013

    […] http://chrisman2college.com/2012/11/25/what-if-money-didnt-matter/ […]

  3. My Super Exciting Life « A Series of Assorted Events - January 28, 2013

    […] been doing some blog stalking today and I came across this post which got me to thinking not only of my future, but of my potential. (PS- Derek, your entire […]

Leave a Reply

