News and Nerves

29 Jan

It looks like none of you decided to/had time to blog this week but I have a little down time today so I will anyway.

This week has been very interesting. Being a student again and all. I finally got to go to Andy’s frozen custard on Friday night, thankfully. I needed it after four whole days of school. And I also needed Hurts Donuts on Sunday. By the way, I just realized this is my first five-day school week since about the first week of May. Yikes.

The past few days have had me kind of on-edge about various things. First of all, I had been trying to go back to where I was working last spring, and the manager had seemed like I could come back, no problem. Then he kind of told me that he wasn’t sure I’d get many hours because he’s hiring new people soon to replace everyone who’s leaving in May and they will get priority, so do I still want to come back? That kind of sucked but I said yes. So I went yesterday to fill out the paperwork to start working again. I was kind of nervous about that because I didn’t know if he would be mean or anything (he wasn’t). And he even wrote “15hr/week” on my paper. I’m starting again in a week and a half.

Then I had to go take a drug test. That made me a little nervous because I’m always afraid that a) I’ll make a mistake/do something wrong so it will mess up the results, b) that I’ll have “shy bladder”, or c) that for some reason it will say I’m on drugs when there’s absolutely no way it could be possible. I think it went okay though.

And while I was waiting for that, I got a message from my friend Jacy that our paper about Sandy Hook got accepted for the conference in Minneapolis that we sent it to, and we get to go! The thing that made me nervous about that, though, was that we took Kevin’s name off it even when our professor told us we shouldn’t (she didn’t reply to our email in time). So today I was nervous because we decided to go talk to her and ask what we should do and if she was mad at us for taking it off.

She wasn’t mad and she laughed instead and said she had a feeling we’d done that. But then she told us we have to face The Wrath Of Kevin on our own, which basically meant me because I have two classes with him where I sit right next to him. Shit. And I know that our two professors will probably announce to the class about our paper. Plus there will probably be a press release, a Comm department facebook post, and a story in the campus newspaper which Kevin writes for. So I don’t know, would it be better if I tell him before class one day before he has to hear it for the first time? Now I’m nervous about that. He can get defensive sometimes.

Well, on the bright side, Minneapolis!?

Cathy

UPDATE 7:20pm: I talked to him in the Commons, and I told him that Jacy and I had continued working on the paper and we took his name off… he didn’t even seem upset! He even said “I knew I wouldn’t be able to put any more work into it” so it all worked out 🙂 I think I need a drink now though lols

One Response to “News and Nerves”

  1. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? January 29, 2014 at 3:56 pm #

    Congrats on the job! Good luck facing the Wrath of Kevin 😉

Leave a Reply

