Real Life Again

22 Jan

Well, here I am in my fourth day back on the Lane. It’s really hard to believe that break’s already over, and I’m in Springfield again. The past two years of college, I always spent around half of my break in Germany, so it never felt very long. This year, even though I went to Germany, I still had four weeks of break at home and I was expecting it to go pretty slow since I wasn’t working or anything. I guess I was having too much fun with you guys and my family for it to go by as quickly as it did.

I can’t say that I’m unhappy to be back in Springfield though. I packed all my stuff, most of which was never unpacked from London, and on Saturday my family and I drove down here in three separate cars. We arrived around 4pm and went to Lambert’s for dinner. That’s our tradition. Then we went back to the hotel. In the morning, we drove all three cars over to school and I moved into my new apartment in University Suites. And it’s pretty suite. Did I tell you I forgot my textbooks at home? Basic. We ate at Fazoli’s and made our annual Walmart run, then Becky left to go to Rolla and the rest of my family went back home. I hung out with Carson and we waited for Hanna to get here.

Sunday night I hung out with Hanna and another roommate, Morgan, and some of their sorority friends. Woke up Monday morning not feeling so hot, haha… took a shower which was the worst shower of my life because the water was coming out too hard and then Madi (who we went to London with) picked Hanna and me up for lunch. I felt better by then, and when we came home Hanna and I went to Carson’s for a little. I had Panera for dinner and Caitlin came over to watch the Bachelor. I spent the rest of the night taking buzzfeed quizzes and hanging up the rest of my wall decorations.

Yesterday I had two classes, Intro to Environmental Science which I’m guessing will be just like my Climate Change class I had with the same teacher in fall 2012, and Communication and Ethics, which is with the teacher I had for Presentational Speaking class freshman year. I am about 99% sure he teared up at one point. I think that class will be good though. I met with the Spanish professor who will be doing my independent study with me and we decided on meeting days/times. I also talked to my manager at the family center and I emailed him my hours of availability so hopefully the ball gets rolling on that pretty soon. I skyped Moritz and then went to dinner with Hanna and Morgan, and we came back and sat in the kitchen and talked for about five hours and ate some chocolate cake and then went to bed.

This morning I woke up early at about 7:15 and took a shower, which I have now (mostly) fixed… for the first time, I didn’t get water all over the floor! I picked up my textbooks I ordered from the bookstore and ate breakfast in the commons (it’s omelette day). Then I went to my first class, Strategic Writing for Advertising and Public Relations. It’s my first 400-level Communication class, and it’s with my adviser/the head of the communication department, so I think it will be really tough but the teacher is so nice and I know she is going to teach me a lot. It’s my smallest class too, and a lot of us already know each other. One interesting thing about it, though, is that we have to dress “professional” every Wednesday and that’s actually part of our grade.

Then I had Web Communication with my Media Writing teacher from last year and we’re going to make our own website, so I think that will be pretty fun. I think I might do mine about London. He says we are required to buy our own domain and web server (since he only made us get one textbook. ha)

After class, I drove to Clinton, MO, which is about halfway between Independence and Springfield, to meet my mom so she could give me the rest of my textbooks (oooops). We had lunch at Applebee’s and I told her about my classes so far and she gave me my books plus some more stuff I requested like nail polish and hot chocolate. So I just got back about an hour ago.

Well, school’s off to a good start but I can definitely tell it’s going to be a busy and challenging semester. I proved I could handle it last spring, but let’s just hope that London didn’t make me too lazy and forget my good habits.

Cathy

One Response to “Real Life Again”

  1. Reality can be a cruel master. Do well in school this tear and I’ll send you a $1.00 for a lemonade.
    Best!
    G.

Leave a comment