Colorado Update

13 Oct

I live in a house divided. It is 5 vs. 1 every time the Broncos play football. I am that one. The one who could care less about the Broncos, Peyton Manning, and the NFL in general. However, those five do not like that I am that one. Really there is one of the five who is too die-hard and I can’t stand to be around on a Broncos game day. YOU CAN NEVER CHANGE ME INTO A BRONCOS FAN. So, today, as on any other game day, I sit quietly on the couch zoned out as those five cheer and yell and sneer at me as I stupidly comment on the great catch (which so happened to be an interception) for the enemy. However, a little bit of hometown pride swells up in me as I hear the KC Chiefs are 6-0 and have the loudest fans, loud enough to break a world record! How cool. When does college basketball start? answer: not soon enough

Well, I haven’t been very faithful to this blog; for that I apologize. I have become exponentially worse at getting things done. For example, I did laundry last Tuesday. My sheets sat in the dryer for 6 days. 6 days! I would forget them and then remember them but not care and then it was 6 days later. That’s bad.

I have added a fun thing to my schedule. I am now a volunteer at the Boys and Girls’ Club! I love it. I go every Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday and stick around for about 2 hours. I have helped with homework and a few programs that they participate in. Tuesday was my first day and I stuck with the 1st-4th grade boys. We did a health and fitness program and I was supposed to help them with a worksheet. Holy moly. Those boys were so wound tight! Thursday was a little quieter. The boys were in an “acting” program– which means that the instructor makes up a bunch of stuff and the boys do it and love it. We played zombie tag for an hour. They had so much fun pretending and sneaking around and running it was adorable how many smiles I saw. (One boy was so smiley and in a good mood that he would run up to me and give me a giant hug any time he had the chance… heart melting). Friday was crazy again, they don’t have homework help so the kids get to play in an awesome games room for forever. But then I was stuck with the 1st-4th grade girls for an hour program. We played a game a little like “I’ve Never” but the girls got to move around the room. It was weird. But I learned so much about their home lives. It was heartbreaking. I had a chat with a staff after that program was over and he explained to me the living situation of one of the girls. So heartbreaking.

I love it. Being present and available and loving is such a small thing I can do for these kids and they need it- they crave it. I could do something like this for the rest of my life. I think that’s why I love camp so much. Though I don’t get to spend much time with the campers, I can make every minute they are with me full of love, acceptance, and Jesus; things they might not get at home at all.
Things are non-stop on this end. I can’t wait to take a break this next weekend at Journey, the Regional conference for schools that have Navigator ministries. Going to make the long and out of the way trek up to Estes Park. Can’t wait to be up in the mountains! Finally!

Miss you all

Love, Morgan

p.s. Sorry I suck at writing letters or communicating in other means rather than snapchat. Maybe I’ll make up for it and send you all Christmas cards….

p.p.s. speaking of Christmas….. only 73 days!! Holla!

One Response to “Colorado Update”

  1. Denise October 15, 2013 at 11:04 am #

    You make your momma’s heart smile! I imagine, God’s smile is bigger! 🙂

Leave a Reply

