Mid-European-adventure crisis

11 Oct

Hey everyone. This week and next week are sure to be busy with a lot of assignments and stuff like that because Fall Break is quickly approaching (one week!?!? Ahhhh!). Not only do I need to finish things for next week, but I’d also like to at least start on things that are due the week after fall break (meanest teacher move ever) so I don’t have to do them all as soon as I get back.

I guess that means I have to suck it up and get stuff done? Even if it means that I can hardly do anything fun? This is like the worst conundrum of my life. I’m in LONDON yet I can’t go out and enjoy it every second because I actually have real homework. You’d think it wouldn’t be that bad since I’m only taking 12 hours but somehow it’s worse than last semester when I took 17 and was working 20-25 hours a week. Actually, I know exactly why it’s worse.

In Springfield I have no qualms about sitting home and doing homework at night, actually I love it when I can do that because it means that I have the night off from work and don’t have some other event or meeting I need to go to. Here, it’s completely the opposite. I never have work or meetings to go to, but I’M IN LONDON. I don’t want to go to the library for 8 hours and write a paper. Besides, even if I did, someone would drag me to a bar or something eventually (I would go willingly). That doesn’t happen at home (still illegal at home). There’s a lot of peer pressure here. I don’t use that as an excuse. I am perfectly capable of saying no when I really need to, but a lot of times I don’t really need to, so I don’t.

So, I don’t know the answer to this predicament.  It’s all about finding the balance I guess, but that’s actually really difficult.

Last night I stayed in, did some homework, ate a candy bar from the vending machine (holla) and tonight I’m going to a club with Hanna, Megan, and Madi. Don’t know if I’m going to drink though. Public service announcement: please eat more than a piece of salami and a slice of cheese during the day before you decide to drink a third of a bottle of rum. You might just get the worst hangover ever. I would trust this advice if I were you.

Time is going so fast. Tomorrow it’s been exactly 2 months since I left home. Next week being fall break is kind of giving me a mid-life crisis only “mid-European adventure” crisis instead. I’m super excited to see some new places though and just travel around through four different countries for 10 days! When we get back, it will be November already. Three weeks until my trip to Prague, and then one week until YOU GUYS ARE HERE!! Then 10 days of fun fun fun and then finals and then… goodbye London, hello Germany, goodbye Germany, hello USA… Nooooo it can’t be

I hope you guys are having a good week, special S/O to Meiguan, wish I could give you a hug and I know your future is going to be great! Well I would do the same for all of you actually 🙂

Cathy

One Response to “Mid-European-adventure crisis”

  1. Megan October 12, 2013 at 4:21 pm #

    thanks cathy! i miss you so much! #wombiesforlyfe

Leave a Reply

