That Deli Life

10 Oct

Today was my 3rd day overall at HV.  The past two days, I’ve been working in the deli at HV. And being completely honest, I think I like it better at the deli, but I guess I don’t really have too much to go on. There’s just a lot more things to do in the deli. And not everything is “bitch work” because you’re new, which I kind of feel like that’s how it mostly is up front.

Yesterday I was trained, made hummus, made lots of sandwiches, and bagged lots of meats and cheese for customers. Today I did all afore-mentioned, minus the hummus, plus used the meat slicer. That was pretty interesting. My favorite thing to do in the deli though is probably use the sicker machine. You just punch in some numbers for the product, then BAM! It spits out the sticker label then you stick that on the product. Call me lame, don’t care.

Yesterday my cousin who works at HV came to get a sandwich. I don’t think he knew I had started working because he was surprised to see me, and I was kind of surprised to see him. But it was all exciting.

Most of the people I’ve been working with have been pretty cool and chill. I guess there isn’t a manager as of right now in the deli, so everything is pretty laxed. Also today, I accidentally used “suppes tired” in front of my new co-works and was judged hard core. LOL. After that happened, I basically said all of the abbreves I use. Probs, whateves, etc. but it’s cool though because they make fun of me too. Somethings never change. Haha.

Other than working at the deli, my week has been super stressful. I had two tests this week—one in my hardest class, the other in my easiest class. I stayed up really late for the first half of the week studying for the hardest test. Then after that I kind of was just like meh, but I think the second test turned out to be okay, so no worries there.

If I’m being completely honest, it’s been one of those weeks where it just sucks. I wish I could that things were better, but I can’t. Sometimes things happen, and maybe it happened for a reason, but it was a punch to the gut. I wanted it, but I don’t think I realized how much I desperately and whole-heartily wanted it until I was told I couldn’t have it. So now I’m basically back to square one. I just don’t know where I’m headed or what’s ahead. And every time I think about having to think about what I should do next, I just don’t want to think about it. You get me? I hate facing this reality. I hope things get better from here, because it sucks, guys. I guess it’s just one of those obstacles in life, huh?

Peace out, girl scouts.
-M

PS. S/O to Ben Rector and Lorde for getting me this week. Your guy’s music is awesome opossum.
PPS. 42 days to london
PPPS. I posted this with one minute left in Thursday. WHUT UP.

Leave a Reply

