Back to School

26 Aug

Hello everyone, now that summer break is over we are all slowly getting back into the routine of blogging every week.

I came back from my 5 month vacation snowboarding in Colorado in late march after I tore my medial meniscus snowboarding, I then started off my summer with knee surgery in May. I am working on a lake at the marina again with Kendyl and Megan. I spent the summer working, longboarding, mountain biking, rock climbing, and chilling to quickly sum it up.

I am currently taking 2 classes’ speech and math at the local community college before I get back into being a fulltime student next semester. Why just 2 classes?

1. I started paying my student loans last December and they suck and I am broke. So I decided to make myself temporarily even more broke by paying for my classes this semester in cash to avoid more loans and I could only afford two.

2. I am taking the last of my general education classes which means I need to declare a major so I know what classes to take next. This is a problem because I have no idea what the hell I want to do the rest of my life.

I really did not want to go back to college simply because I want to do too many different things, and several times I almost hit the abort button. Since coming back in March I considered, looked into, or almost did all of the following before ultimately going back to school.

  1. Joining the Air force
  2. Joining the navy
  3. Moving to Seattle (Had a job offer)
  4. Going back to Colorado (Had a Job offer)
  5. Peace corps (I filled out the first page of the application)
  6. Working in Alaska (Friend asked me to work there with him)
  7. Working in New Zealand (Friend ask me to work there with him)
  8. Working in California
  9. Without telling anyone emptying my bank account and leaving to travel the country
  10. Winning the Lottery
  11. Conservation corps abroad
  12. Starting a Company (Had partners and a business plan)
  13. Buying a one way ticket to Costa Rica to surf and live on a beach for a few years

Ultimately I went back to school which was probably the best choice but I still have no idea what career path I want to take. I wish traveling the world with friends and having fun was the description of a decent paying job because that’s all I want to do (I’m pumped for London in November).

Also this winter I will probably work as a snowboard instructor at our local ski area, I am pretty excited to spend a second straight winter working on a snowboard.

PS. Community college sucks

Peace, Love, and Happiness

Live A Little

-Derek

6 Responses to “Back to School”

  1. textbooks4you August 26, 2013 at 9:47 pm #

    Hey Derek, sounds like things are quite adventurous for you right now. Don’t even worry about not knowing what major to declare or what you really want to do with your life – I know many people in their 30s that don’t even know what they want yet… Just take in every breath, relax, and eventually your true calling will come. Enjoy your next semester!

  2. ladyphoenix74 August 27, 2013 at 12:39 pm #

    Hey, Derek! I am so sorry to hear about your surgery. It took me a long time to figure out what I wanted to do as well; you’re never too old to accomplish your dreams, and you’re only as young as you feel. True story! I wish you the best of luck, and I really hope you find your place in this world. And no more injuries! XOXO, Tess

  3. mfrank219 August 27, 2013 at 6:01 pm #

    I contemplated everything on your list! Just take it one day at a time you’ll be done with school before you know it!

  4. Aislinn August 27, 2013 at 7:37 pm #

    I’m thinking that lottery win is the best plan on there. If you come up with a guaranteed win method, please let me know! 🙂

Leave a Reply

