Year In Review

16 May

As of yesterday, my semester/year has finally ended, and to be honest it’s kind of bittersweet. Coming to Mizzou was never really a plan that I had planned on following through with. Though it’s been an adventure adjusting to this new environment, I feel like I made the right choice, and I hope that I’ll be able finish my education here (fingers crossed for nursing school!). That isn’t to say that I regret my year at Jewell, because I don’t. But I guess if there’s one thing I regret it’s not making the decision to come to Mizzou first, if that makes sense… Haha.

This Spring semester has most definitely, hands down, been the most challenging/stressful semester I have ever gone through. This week especially. I hate finals. It probably could almost classify as a miracle that I’ve even made it out alive. But still, for the most part I’ve enjoyed every class that I was in.

Here are some highlights/lessons learned/favorite memories of my year at Mizzou (in no particular order or importance).

  • Getting my first speeding ticket, also getting my first parking ticket (the latter was yesterday, when I almost missed my last final.)
  • Seeing Imagine Dragons preform… FOR FREE. And seeing Passion Pit and Matt & Kim for a small fee.
  • Being sick for 6 weeks. Not cool man. I’m better now though.
  • Microbiology 2800. I don’t care who you are/what your major is, you need to take this class to know the hilarity/awesomeness that is Dr. Furrer. Besides that, subject matter/teaching wise, it’s probably the best class I have ever taken. Ever.
  • Getting 2.5 snow days.
  • I can procrastinate like no body’s business. Thank you Netflix, FB, Twitter, YouTube, Pinterest and Imgur. That being said, apparently my body can’t handle stress that is usually a result of procrastination very well (see point #3).
  • The closest I got to an all-nighter was sleeping only for 2 hours…. On many, many, many nights.
  • Ellis library is freaking awesome. Although scary as well (I’m sure librarian Kendyl could tell you more so than I can)
  • Getting a lot of free things, including shirts and lots of food.
  • Attractive male in my history class.  He was real attractive.
  • I miss music/violin more than I thought I would, probably one downside to coming to MU.
  • I’ve been able to appreciate my family and KC a lot more now that I’m 123 miles/1.5 hours away.
  • The basement of the Student Union has very comfy couches that are GREAT for naps.
  • I probably spent too much in the bookstore on clothing/apparel and books. Gosh I really hate buying books.
  • Never take a “5 minute nap” during a study break. It never ends up being 5 minutes, no matter how hard you try to make it last only 5 minutes.

I can’t believe that I’ve just finished my 2nd year of college. CRAZY!! However I’m getting super excited for summer! Even though I’m going to be so majorly busy, wahhhh!!

Peace out for now!
Megan

PS. Sorry Cathy for kind of copying the premise of your post!!

PPS. I just got a little depressed, guys. I googled Kansas City Explorers to find out their schedule this summer. I found out that they’re moving to Irving TX because there wasn’t enough corporate support in KC to keep there here. 😦

8 Responses to “Year In Review”

  1. ryan May 16, 2013 at 8:49 pm #

    hope the best for you…

  2. Liv May 16, 2013 at 9:53 pm #

    Megan I loved reading this post. I have also learned the hard way that it is impossible to take a five minute nap as a study break. Good luck with your classes if you have not already finished 🙂

  3. LemonRainDrop May 17, 2013 at 7:27 am #

    Congrats on finishing your second year! They’ll fly by from here 🙂 Happy Summer!

  4. jeanmliao May 20, 2013 at 8:43 am #

    Congrats on finishing your sophomore year! I wish I could see Imagine Dragons for free and Passion Pit for small price too! Haha

  5. theaveragebitch May 29, 2013 at 7:54 pm #

    congrats! I just got home from my first year at Alabama so this is very relateable! Bama was not my first choice, but now I cannot see myself anyplace else. Great writing, and congrats!

  6. huntmode May 31, 2013 at 11:18 pm #

    Hi! One of you visited my blog, so I was able to return the favor and find you. So sorry to hear you’ve been sick for quite a while. But! Well done on the finals! Happy summer and may you be able to enjoy it without any fevers! Best ~ HuntMode

  7. barbarastanley June 1, 2013 at 10:21 pm #

    I hope you mend quickly – you are young, so I am betting on it – and I pray you have a great summer, but please be careful. The world needs you.

  8. gudbyeboredom June 3, 2013 at 1:51 am #

    You got to see Imagine Dragons!! jealous!! 😉
    Hope you have a good time this summer..

Leave a Reply

