El fin! Hasta enero, Springfield. Hasta pronto, amigos :-)

15 May

I am free! 🙂

This is a little bittersweet though. It’s been the best semester of college by far, potentially the best of my life ever. It was much needed after the worst semester of college and my life ever last semester. But this one has been awesome. I am a little sad it’s over and that I won’t see a lot of my friends and professors or be on Drury’s campus until January. But then I remember I’m going to LONDON in 3 months so I stop being sad pretty quick.

I actually haven’t been that stressed out this week. I’ve been stressed all semester, in a good way though. It kept me busy and kept me going all the time, but I just feel so satisfied when I check things off my list of things to do, so I’ve been managing my time really well. Considering how much I’ve been working, I’ve had to. So I never got panicked-stressed out.

Friday night we had our final Summit project presentations. Here’s me and my roommates outside our house wearing our Volunteer shirts we got from the shelter.

summit

Today I had my final presentation of my research project. I still can’t believe that dang project that wouldn’t go away is… gone. If anyone’s interested in learning about Media Framing of the Sandy Hook Shooting and wants to read a 17-page paper about it, hit me up. My mom told me she thought it would be really boring but it kept her attention. So there’s a testimonial, if you’re skeptical.

I got my final grades for my two Spanish classes where I have an awesome teacher. 97.75% in Spanish 302 and 97.6% in Senior Seminar! I got a 98% on both of my final papers. The other day I was talking to my professor and she said I’ve really improved a lot and I am probably one of the ones who have improved the most.

Here’s a picture of me and my class at her house after the Iniciación ceremony for the Sigma Delta Pi honor society! Those little kids are another professor’s kids.

enyay

I’m really going to miss my Spanish class!

I don’t know what to do with myself now. Probably eat a lot of food, right? I’ve been having a lot of Chipotle and pizza lately.

Or maybe I should work on cleaning this:

room51513.

… Nah. I’m going to enjoy my freedom for now.

Here’s a list of some of the best things about this semester (no particular order):

  • Going to Atlanta to watch the basketball team win the national championship
  • Getting the outstanding sophomore in the communication department award
  • Eating dinner at my Spanish professor’s house with my class
  • Winning extra credit for our research poster
  • A cat named Georgie at the animal shelter
  • IPHONE
  • Getting prepared to go to London
  • Making new friends with people in my classes
  • Being addicted to the Jodi Arias trial (Guilty- first degree premeditated murder)
  • Going to St. Louis for a weekend with Caitlin
  • Not having any classes I hate
  • Not having calculus which is the ultimate class I hate

I’ll be home on Friday night, see you guys for Dirty Dancing on Saturday night! I’ll make some snakes. Oops I meant to say snacks, but it’s funny that I said snakes instead so I decided not to change it.

And t-minus six days until the Of Monsters and Men concert! That kind of snuck up on us, didn’t it? Hooray!

Cathy

P.S. Let’s come watch Andy Roddick play on the Springfield Lasers tennis team sometime this summer! I don’t really know anything about him but I know you guys do.

P.P.S. I’m still in shock it’s summer now. IT’S SUMMER RIGHT NOW. It feels like it was just last summer, right? I’m so excited for pie-worthy stories and sitting on the big rock at Bass Pro and being scared of creepy people and raccoons. Can we go camping on your property again, Kendyl? I wonder if Nick will be allowed this year.

P.P.P.S. How is it that we graduated from Chrisman 2 years ago? How is it that we just finished our SOPHOMORE YEAR OF COLLEGE?

3 Responses to “El fin! Hasta enero, Springfield. Hasta pronto, amigos :-)”

  1. Morgan May 16, 2013 at 1:38 am #

    YAYYY summer!!
    I am SO looking forward to Saturday night!

  2. Megan May 16, 2013 at 10:41 am #

    YES!!! ANDY RODDICK!!!!! AHHHH!! I’m so excited for summer!! 🙂

  3. monochromejunkie June 1, 2013 at 6:25 pm #

    Way to go on your work in school. 🙂 (And it’s a pleasure to meet you.) You should know that by your third year of school you will probably be a little bit screwy like me. I haven’t had an academic break in 2 & 1/2 years- your brain will feel like jelly pretty soon! (This is my 4th semester of college math in a row. That explains it.)

    Always remember to study hard! You’re trading in a few short years “doing time” for a lifetime of benefits. 😉 And always know that you can accomplish ANYTHING you set your mind and heart to. Believe it- and it will come true. Always remember that. Good luck in your upcoming year!

    xo

Leave a Reply

