I just want free ice cream

17 Apr

Hey, it’s Wednesday. I kept thinking/hoping yesterday was Wednesday. I guess that’s what happens when last week we only had four days of class.

I realized this was the first weekend I’ve been in Springfield since the beginning of March. I volunteered early on Saturday, from 8:00-10:00, so I celebrated having the whole day ahead of me by taking a nap for two hours. Then I got to work on an assignment which was basically a visual representation of a resume, created to look like an advertisement. That was for my Principles of Advertising and Public Relations class.

I had a plan and I went to the Mac Lab to try and use Photoshop. I’ve used Photoshop before but not in a while. After it took me one hour to draw a single square onscreen, I called it quits.  Also, using Mac computers seriously make me feel like Helen Keller.

This week is our “Spring Fling” week so I just got a cute free t-shirt. Tonight they are sponsoring an event at Andy’s Frozen Custard – free ice cream to the first 400 Drury students. So I probably can’t pass that up.

Tomorrow is “Theme Day” which is the culmination of our convocation series for the year. This year’s was called “Voices Unbound” which means that every Thursday we had a speaker come to campus and present, and these guests had to do with journalism or communication through media. Some of the guests included: Andy Carvin, senior strategist at NPR; Brian Stelter, New York Times journalist; and Ondi Timoner, a film producer whose work has won Sundance Film Festival awards.

My media writing professor is the one who organized it this year and tomorrow we are having a woman named Roxana Saberi come talk. She is an American journalist who got arrested in Iran a few years ago. Anyway, my professor invited me and two other students from his classes to a lunch with her! I didn’t know anything about it but I was happy that he asked me.

I don’t have any classes tomorrow because usually I have two Spanish classes but my professor is going out of town for a conference. Friday my two afternoon classes are canceled but I don’t remember why. I am going to St. Louis with Caitlin for the weekend so I can see her house so that will be fun.

That’s all!

ONLY A FEW MORE WEEKS.

Cathy

3 Responses to “I just want free ice cream”

  1. shellakers April 17, 2013 at 1:55 pm #

    Hey I’d go for the ice cream too! lol

    So are you Springfield IL or MO? I’m from St. Louis and have family in both Springfields! lol Kind of cool to see someone else from my neck of the woods on WP 🙂

    • cathy April 17, 2013 at 2:57 pm #

      We’re from Independence, MO (near KC) and I’m in Springfield, MO for school!

      • shellakers April 17, 2013 at 7:29 pm #

        That’s SO cool! A large part of my family lives in KC so I know Independence well 🙂 It’s just cool to see someone on WordPress who’s from MO. I think you’re the first I’ve met 🙂

Leave a Reply

