#allweDUiswin

3 Apr

It’s been an exciting week here at little old Drury. On Saturday, the basketball team played in the NCAA DII quarterfinals, and beat the defending champions 107-97 in Louisville. Drury took a bus full of Fanthers (fans+panthers) to support them and I watched them on CBS Sports at home with my family while I was there for Easter. I hadn’t gotten to go to any games this year because I worked pretty much every day they had a game, but I realized it’s pretty exciting to watch a winning team. Especially when one of the starters sits five feet away from you in your Principles of Advertising and Public Relations class.

Now they’ll be playing for the championship on Sunday in Atlanta. Students have the opportunity to go to the game again, for only $20! I decided not to go, because I have to work Monday night and I have a lot of stuff due next week, but then I started feeling cognitive dissonance about my decision, aka: I really wanted to go. I realized that I would probably regret it if I didn’t go, so I said #YOLO and decided I was going. They told us we could sign up at lunch, and they’d take 2 buses for sure which could take a total of 100 people, and they would get a third one if there was enough demand. Yesterday at the first available time, a friend and I tried to go to sign up in between Spanish classes.

What nobody was expecting was that the line would look like this.

line

After 40 minutes in a line that wasn’t moving, my friend and I decided to go to the class we were supposed to be in so we could at least try to get 50% of the participation points. I gave my money to some friends who were further ahead in line and asked if they would sign me up. Later one of them texted me and said that we were on bus #3. They said that bus #3 isn’t guaranteed because they were not anticipating this many people wanting to go, but they are pretty sure they can get it. Apparently by the end of yesterday, there were over 200 students signed up, enough for more than 4 buses. Wow.

Did I mention that our president canceled classes for Monday in order to encourage more Fanthers to attend the game? (The professors are pissed.)

This week I’m feeling blessed to go to such a spirited, supportive, and close-knit school.

Cathy

P.S. Here’s a video I found one time about the evils of Google translate. As a language student I find it especially funny because I have to admit that Google translate is still my friend (sometimes when I need to get the general idea of what I’m reading, not when I’m writing something. I promise.) I sent this video to my Spanish teacher and she said she’s going to show it to her 101 and 102 classes.

2 Responses to “#allweDUiswin”

  1. Morgan April 5, 2013 at 7:10 pm #

    That’s so awesome that you get to go to Atlanta to support your basketball team! What an awesome opportunity.. I hope I can do something like that some day!

  2. raymondarthur June 6, 2013 at 1:54 pm #

    Sweet 🙂

Leave a Reply

