Pitkästä aikaa

14 Mar

I am the world’s biggest procrastinator when it comes to going to bed. I looked through old pictures from Independence earlier today and started missing everybody and somehow I ended up opening OpenOffice and started writing and here I am. I’m also the worst blogger – last time I wrote here was over a year ago…

So since I last wrote here my life has changed a lot. I graduated from high school and got into Finland’s most well-known business school, Aalto University School of Business. The main campus is in Helsinki but I’m studying in Mikkeli which is like 2.5 hour drive from Helsinki. This is the international program that this school offers so I’m studying in English and we have only two ‘grades’ here. We can only do our Bachelor’s degree here and the third year students are doing their study abroad periods now; it’s mandatory in this program and I’m not complaining! Emma and I started both here last fall and we live together. Our apartment is super close to school which is great because I don’t have to wake up early yay! School has been a lot of work but I’ve made tons of new friends and most of the people studying here have been exchange students or lived abroad so the atmosphere is very international. Also, 1/4 of the students are from other countries and we have our own Vietnamese group (we have like 40 of them and I don’t know why they want to come to Finland). The down side of this school is the fact that we don’t have summer vacation which sucks but at the same time I’m quite excited about Mikkeli summer 🙂

But yeah anyway we have very good student body and a lot of parties and activities outside school. Last months have been crazy busy but I’ve enjoyed the ride and I’ve attended more theme parties than ever in my life. I’m the vice president of our school’s sports club and class president (I honestly don’t know how I ended up in this position). It’s mostly good except our dean started this new thing called Student Quality Committee and I have to be part of it which means that I have to sit with the staff and the other class president once every three weeks and discuss about the student well-being. It’s ok but I would rather do something else.

Nothing special is going on at the moment, except my International Communication professor makes us write stupid essays every day and talks about Japanese art and it has nothing to do with anything. Two weeks and SPRING BREAK!

– Saara

P.s. Pitkästä aikaa = long time no see (I guess that’s the best translation for it but I’m not really good at translating anything so..)

P.p.s Last night when I was walking home around 10pm it was -4F and it’s MARCH!

3 Responses to “Pitkästä aikaa”

  1. pallaksharma24 March 15, 2013 at 1:38 am #

    I have also applied to a few b-schools. Waiting for the results now! It was good to know about your experience in a b-school and now I’m all agog to get into one!

  2. Morgan Sandberg March 15, 2013 at 4:13 pm #

    Saara!!!
    Congrats on being class president, I didn’t even know they had those in college!

  3. itycharles March 18, 2013 at 8:57 am #

    i see you are into school politics, all the best………. thank you for stopping by my blog

Leave a Reply

