A Very Secret Gerbil

13 Mar

Great news: it’s almost spring break! I’ll be getting home on Saturday afternoon after volunteering at the animal shelter in the morning (and then showering, of course).

This week has slowed down a lot for me after the 3 weeks of insanity that I just had. But I’ve worked every day for the past week, and today is my first day off in quite a while. I’m going to use it to clean my room and get organized before I leave on Saturday. Just kidding, I’ll probably spend the afternoon watching the Jodi Arias trial (the court has been in recess since last Thursday) and the episode of Dance Moms I missed last night. That reminds me, the other day at work I found out that one of my co-workers also follows the Jodi Arias case. We had a very intellectual and detailed conversation about it for an hour. Too bad there were still 5 hours left of the shift and then we had nothing left to talk about…

Yesterday morning I had my 3rd London Orientation meeting. They brought in four girls who went to London this past fall to tell us about stuff. Have I mentioned yet that I’m sooooo excited? I remembered Stonehenge the other day and how much I’m totally going there. Also, it’s only $100 to go to Dublin, Ireland from London. It sounds like these girls kind of went to London just to travel and just so happened to have classes while they were there, but that wasn’t the main focus of the trip. That’s an attitude I plan on adopting as well. I think that means the main focus of my summer is going to be “working my butt off,” though. It’ll be worth it when/if I have enough money to do everything I want to do while I’m there! #168days

Stonehenge_in_HDR_02

The only two other noteworthy things:

1. Midterm grades came out last week and I got all As! And these are completely legit with no A-s like I sometimes get. I’m pretty sure this is my first time in college where I had straight As of any kind (minus or not) at any point in the semester (other than like the first week) so I’m pretty excited. And this once again affirms to me that I’m majoring in the right things because apparently I’m good at them too!

2. One of my roommates got a gerbil. She got it from one of the girls who lives downstairs, named Haley. Haley said she didn’t want the gerbil anymore because she “has commitment issues” and “doesn’t have time for it,” which I think are valid concerns but maybe if you are talking about a significant other rather than a small caged rodent. Anyway, I’m pretty happy about the gerbil because pets aren’t allowed and you guys know that I’m all about that rebellion life. I like it when we put it in its little ball and it rolls around the living room. Health and safety checks are next week during spring break though so it will have to temporarily relocate, I suppose.

Hope to see some of you soon!

Cathy

7 Responses to “A Very Secret Gerbil”

  1. mumsthewordintheuk March 13, 2013 at 4:17 pm #

    Hi I live in the UK if I can help you in anyway just let me know.

  2. brennansuen March 13, 2013 at 7:36 pm #

    Where in London are you studying? I studied at Goldsmiths last fall and it was the time of my life. Camden, Brick Lane/Shoreditch, and Borough Market are all fantastic market areas. Travel around Europe is really affordable. You’ll have a blast!

  3. Rebecca March 13, 2013 at 9:04 pm #

    I studied abroad in London almost two years ago, best decision I ever made. One of my tips would be like you mentioned already, enjoy your classes, but also focus a lot on exploring and find ways to connect your classes to the rest of your adventure. Stonehenge was fantastic and beautiful, as was nearly everything else I saw. I blogged about the whole adventure, so feel free to check out my blog for ideas.

  4. cathy March 13, 2013 at 11:05 pm #

    Thanks for the comments, everyone!
    @mumsthewordintheuk – Thanks, I will!
    @brennansuen – I’m studying at Regent’s American College London in Regent’s Park.
    @Rebecca – I will be sure to do that! I like blogs about travel.

  5. Waseem March 13, 2013 at 11:41 pm #

    Haha. Nice write up, life could go topsy-turvy, not like its a bad thing. Rebellion life during student days is fun, it gives you an attitude, I think.

    Hope to read more from your travels. Have all the fun!

  6. Cathy Laws March 14, 2013 at 3:39 pm #

    awesome! we both spell our names with the letter C
    🙂

  7. raymondarthur March 26, 2013 at 7:22 am #

    🙂

Leave a Reply

