Batteries Not Included

13 Feb

Sunday night (aka the early hours of Monday)

12:35 am – get into bed and turn out the lights

12:36 am – set alarms

12:37 am – close eyes and try to fall asleep

12:42 am – hear a loud beep in the hallway… and another 30 seconds later… and another…

12:43 am – realize it’s the smoke detector

12:44-12:45 am – hope it will stop on its own

12:46 am – go out into hallway to talk to Caitlin about what to do

12:47 am – decide to call the CA (like an RA but for apartment housing)

12:48 am – security picks up the phone and says they will be right over

12:49 am – change into more appropriate clothing in which to greet security

12:52 am – security arrives

security: the battery needs replaced

me: we know that

security: do you have a 9-volt battery?

me: uh, no?

security: well, we can’t do anything for you

me: so we’re just supposed to let this beep all night?

security: well, unless you have a 9-volt battery…

me: well I already said that we don’t

security: well, you could go to wal-mart, they’re still open…

me (kind of pissed): alright bye

12:55 am – security leaves

12:56 am – me and Caitlin stare at each other

1:05 am – me and Caitlin drive to the nearest gas station to buy said battery

1:18 am – we return home

1:28 am – I finally figure out how to replace the stupid battery

1:30 am – I finally go to bed, peacefully and sans beeping noise

This just made me really pissy because that was not the first time that one of our smoke detectors had done that this year, and the other two times we were not required to provide the battery. @DUprobz.

Cathy.

P.S. Yesterday I overslept by 3 hours. Oops. I had class at 9:30, 11:00, and 12:00, and I woke up at 11:09. Shit. I left my apartment at 11:22, with makeup on and decent clothes and looking overall  presentable, which I’m pretty proud of.

P.P.S. OF MONSTERS AND MEN!!!

2 Responses to “Batteries Not Included”

  1. moodchaser February 17, 2013 at 5:25 pm #

    cold weather can cause batteries to not work as well. if you notice, most of the time that a detector starts to beep is in the middle of the night. convenient, right?

  2. leanneepearl March 6, 2013 at 1:38 am #

    HA! Very amusing post. Thanks for the laugh.
    P.S. I like your guys’ blog. Very cool Idea.

Leave a Reply

