A Week in the Life

6 Feb

I almost decided not to blog today. Which is crazy, because I ALWAYS blog on my day, unlike some other people *coughNICKcough*. But I had a really good reason for almost not blogging, and that reason is the fact that literally nothing happened this week other than me working my butt off.

But then I decided I could just talk about what classes I have this semester and that would suffice for a satisfactory blog topic.

Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays:

10:00-10:50 am – COMM 215, Foundations of Communication Theory
This class is pretty okay. The final product will be a research paper over a specific communication theory, which we work on in groups of three for the whole semester. The paper will be 15-20 pages long, using at least 18 sources, 10 of which must be academic journal articles. My group consists of myself, a girl who is also a Spanish/Comm double major who lives next door to me named Jacy, and a boy named Kevin who lives in the apartment above Jacy, also next door to me. Our topic is “Media Framing of the Sandy Hook School Shooting,” and I’m actually really excited about it.

1:00-1:50 pm – COMM 231, Principles of Advertising and Public Relations
This class is also okay, but if I had to pick a least favorite class so far it’d probably be this one. The teacher is from South Korea and has a really thick accent, but she is really nice and dresses very fashionably. I just like this class less because it’s very much a “lecture-style” class (which are pretty uncommon here at Drury).

2:00-2:50 pm – COMM 221, Media Writing
I like this class a lot more than I thought I would. I figured it would be like journalism, which I don’t want to be a journalist, but I’ve learned a lot about writing in general which is necessary and helpful. My professor is really cool, he graduated from the school of Journalism at Mizzou. Our assignments regularly consist of tweeting about things and writing blog posts. I can dig it.

Tuesdays and Thursdays:

9:30-10:50 am – SPAN 302, Culture of Spain: “Traveling through Spain”
¡Me encanta esta clase! (I love this class.) I have the same professor that I had last semester for my Spanish Literature class, and she is la bomba (da bomb). I’ve had a lot of great professors at Drury, but I’d say she’s the frontrunner thus far. She insists that we call her by her first name, “Heidi”, instead of “Dr.” because she’s from Wisconsin (even though she eventually lived in Spain) and says people don’t do that there. She is really fun to talk to and makes class awesome. Our homework is literally to “walk around” on Google Street View of different cities in Spain, pretending we are there, and write a “diario de viaje” (travel journal) about what we did and saw there. Here’s where we had to walk around in Madrid (if you’d like to do so): Link to Madrid.
And our final project is to plan our own trip to Spain.

11:00-11:50 am – SPAN 310, Spanish Pronunciation and Phonetics (Tuesday Only)
This class is aight. It’s very strange. It’s a one-hour class, smack-dab in the middle of my other two Spanish classes on Tuesday, and I have a different professor who I’ve never had before. After only 2 classes, we’ve learned how to properly define syllables in Spanish, and how they slur certain sounds together. Most of this class has been in English so far, actually – it’s supposed to be in Spanish but the book is kind of confusing so we all end up reverting back to our mother tongue in order to figure out what the heck is going on. Also, yesterday I had to choose a poem to read to the class, so I chose “Rimas Humanas: CXCI” por Lope de Vega because we read it last semester and I like it.

12:00-1:20 pm – SPAN 493, Senior Seminar: “Franquismo in Spanish Visual and Print Culture: 1936-1992”
For this class, I have Heidi again, and there are a total of 7 people in this class (my other two Spanish classes have about 10). 3 of us are just sophomores. This class is about the Spanish Civil War. Guess what? I have to admit that I didn’t even know Spain even had a civil war until about 2 weeks ago. I know now though, and I love learning about it! It was from 1936-1939. So far, we have studied some propaganda techniques used by both sides during “La Guerra Civil” (the civil war) and war photographs, and listened to songs! It’s not a boring history class by any means. I’m really enjoying this class.

(I have to mention that it’s a very odd experience to have so many Spanish classes. I get so used to writing/speaking about these topics en español that I start thinking in Spanish to some extent! 4 hours of Spanish-speaking really messes with you, especially when you leave the classroom for the day and begin to consider addressing people walking by in Spanish.)

Some people go through 5 majors or more, jumping from one thing to the next. Others, a smaller percentage, like me, get the grand label of “Undecided” which, in my case, was due to a fear of commitment and a lack of the foresight that I usually require before making a big decision. But I’ve “unofficially” committed, finally, and I plan on declaring in a few months – to make sure that I’m really happy with this path. But as far as I know, this is it – I’ve finally found what I’m interested in and I have desire to do my homework and go to class because I finally CARE for once!! I think I finally know that I’m making the right decision. And I don’t regret the time it’s taken to get here.

Adios, amigos!

P.S.  A shout-out to Kendyl, happy birthday!

6 Responses to “A Week in the Life”

  1. moodchaser February 6, 2013 at 9:19 pm #

    I think this blog is a neat idea. I’m enjoying following it. Good job, guys!

  2. Jess February 6, 2013 at 9:37 pm #

    Thanks for the post! I miss the college days. As an old lady who has been through all this stuff, the best advice I can give you, that I will give my kids someday, (that you probably won’t take) is to major in something that is also a job or job title (accounting, nursing, journalism, teaching/education) and minor in something fun. I was a criminal justice major with a psych minor because I loved the classes. Made it hard to find a job though. Just a thought from an older (not necessarily wiser) follower of your blog. 🙂

  3. one2onek February 7, 2013 at 4:16 pm #

    Interesting Spanish courses! I was a Spanish major. If you continue with Spanish, I would recommend making your “diario de viaje” a reality & go study abroad in Spain! 🙂

    • chrisman2college February 7, 2013 at 10:44 pm #

      My school doesn’t offer a program where I can go for a semester and my scholarships would transfer, so it would be too expensive. I am studying abroad in London in the fall though, and I am definitely going to hit up Spain for a weekend or so!

      And I haven’t thrown out the possibility of heading to Spain after graduation, maybe to be an au pair or something? I definitely would like to see some more of the world before I settle down with a “grown-up” job 🙂

      Cathy

  4. raymondarthur February 15, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

    Que beuno!

  5. raymondarthur February 15, 2013 at 2:01 pm #

    Que bueno!

Leave a Reply

