Mid life Crisis

4 Feb

I am only in my second decade of life and have already had two mid life crises. The first has no relevance to school, and was very short. But the second, of which I experienced Sunday evening, was not very fun and I think it still lingers and will continue to do so until I graduate college. Here’s what happened. Tori and I are in an Integrating Arts class together and our homework over the weekend was to create a 10 minute lesson plan the integrates visual art into a 5th or 6th grade math, science, english, or social studies curriculum. At first, this didn’t scare me. 10 minutes isn’t that long, and Tori has taken teaching classes before so we got this. Then, the freak out started; I’ve never made a lesson plan before, what goes into a lesson plan, what the heck is 6th grade curriculum, I don’t know how to teach in front of anybody! Then, while Tori and I were trying to figure out what topic to pick, I literally could not stop thinking about how long 10 minutes really is and how we were supposed to fill up that much time with information and arts and reflection time. When we finally had a topic- 6th grade science, focussing on ecosystems, I could not not think about all the little details and huge concepts 6th graders don’t know about ecosystems and how they work and what they entail. Also, how am I going to explain all this in less than 5 minutes! (sigh)  Let’s just say my stress levels were on the rise. When Tori finally told me to take a chill pill and stop thinking so hard, we finished the lesson plan.

Here’s my crisis; I don’t think I can do this for 3 more years, let alone a lifetime- and this was only a 10 minute lesson plan. I’m freaking out and can’t stop thinking about all the different possibilites for majors there really are. For example, we have a Recreation and Tourism BS program (how cool is that?!), International Affairs degree, Human Services degree, Communications Studies, and a couple more that are pretty neat. So how am I supposed to choose?! How do I know, at 20 years old, what I want to do for the rest of my life when I haven’t experienced hardly anything at all? What do I know about myself and the world that will lead me to be successful and happy later in life as an adult? When will I have an epiphany that lets me know that where I am is going to lead me to success? Why haven’t I found my passion when others have? When is it my turn to be confident in my decisions that will affect my future?

Maybe I should be a theatre major, because I am being really dramatic.

On a lighter note, I didn’t have to teach in my class today so I have more time to prepare myself for this terrifying experience.

Also, I am making pasta tonight for dinner. This is exciting news because I haven’t had a kitchen to cook in all semester and I am really hating the dining hall right now.

-Morgan

p.s.

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis are coming to my school for our spring concert. WHat?!

14 Responses to “Mid life Crisis”

  1. chebandbecky February 4, 2013 at 8:12 pm #

    I think what you’re going through is pretty common. Lot’s of people change degrees, majors, schools, life. Perhaps if you realize that you can change your mind, it’s normal, and maybe find a counselor/family member/friend who can help you figure it out, it won’t seem like such a huge problem. In the end it’s up to you, and that’s pretty great!

  2. Sam McManus February 4, 2013 at 8:31 pm #

    Morgan, it’s always difficult to make those decisions, but don’t judge based on one lesson plan. It is a process. You didn’t choose this on the spur of the moment, so don’t panic right now. My first lesson plan was fraught with the same kinds of thoughts that you have. Keep it up, but if in the end you want something else, go with theatre. I think you’d be really good at it!

  3. drtyra February 4, 2013 at 9:37 pm #

    Don’t stress. Pick one you like and stick with it (so you don’t take 7 years to finish a 4 year degree). I suggest checking out something like StrengthFinder 2.0, find out what your innate strengths are and find a major that lets you capitalize on them. This isn’t a mid-life crisis. This is a beginning-of-life-as-an-adult crisis. At 45, I know about mid-life crises! You should also know that some of us never settle on a career. I’ve worked on a cruise ship, in hotels, as a catering manager, planning special events, running a nonprofit, been a lawyer, do public speaking, and am a professor. It’s been a wild ride…but I wouldn’t trade it for anyone’s else’s career choice. Good luck!

  4. Cass February 4, 2013 at 10:37 pm #

    Your wild child sister is going to suggest declaring something a little ridiculous. Forget declaring a major and just taking some classes you think you will find interesting. At the end of the semester look at the classes you liked and see if a major pairs them together. Adding a year or two to college is not a big deal. You will have more loans, yes, but remember how I went to school and have no degree and still have $11,000 in debt. I remind myself that the people I met, the places I saw, and the experiences I had were MORE than worth that. When I make my payments, I can say with confidence that even when I didn’t enjoy college I know that I grew while I was there. God is good, His plan will become evident. Relax and enjoy your life. It’s ok if you don’t get a degree, just know that you will have to work that much harder to get your foot in the door. Be brave and follow the Lord’s path even when it seems weird. You will never regret following His lead. No amount of money should limit what the Lord will do in your life. Look for more scholarships if you’re seriously worried. God will provide. Life will be challenging. The earth continues to turn, and life flies by. These are all true. Let God provide. Let life be challenging. You can’t stop the world, but you can enjoy your time on the earth.

    • chrisman2college February 6, 2013 at 3:57 pm #

      Thank you seester
      I will probably be in school for awhile… don’t tell dad
      -Morgan

  5. ngardner23 February 5, 2013 at 1:12 am #

    You’re only a freshmen, it’s okay. You aren’t supposed to have it all figured out right now, that’s what the first year and a half of college is for. To find out what you are passionate about and what you really want to do for the rest of your life. Right now, there’s not a lot of need to rush to figure these things out. There will be, but not right at this moment, because you’ll figure it out sooner than later.
    Hang in there, Morgan! You got this!

  6. ncbroge February 5, 2013 at 5:33 am #

    I completely understand the stress of having to pick a major in college. I suggest to be undecided for at least your freshman year and maybe part of your sophomore year. If I would have choose a major my freshman year I would have switched my major at least 20 times. To this day (I will be graduating in August) I still question wether I made the right choice but isn’t that life. We never know what is out there till we experience it. So for now take a deep breathe and keep working hard. You will be just fine and at some point you will know if you made the right choice. As for the project I completely understand, this past semester I had to do at least seven 10 minute presentations over marketing plans and market research. I always freak out when I have to present but I made it through each one, one at a time. You can do it!

  7. Grumpy basket February 5, 2013 at 5:45 am #

    Hi Morgan,
    Firstly, I hate to burst your bubble, but this isn’t a mid life crisis. They involve suddenly realising that you could be half way through and haven’t really achieved much. Also that you may not be as attractive as you used to be. You then go and buy a sports car, dye your hair back to its original colour and wear clothes that you see the younger folk wearing. Maybe get a tattoo or a few piercings. I should know, I have the sports car, but no hair dye etc.
    Secondly, I’ve done a few presentations and things like that. They only seem daunting at first. After a while it gets easier and becomes run of the mill. Lets face it no one will remember what happens during the lesson for long if its bad. You will get better at it. Hang in there. Putting the work in is half the battle.
    You will find the right path or it will find you.
    Then you can have a proper mid life crisis and be able to afford the sports car and hair dye etc
    🙂 just keep smiling in the face of adversity.
    When life gives you lemonade, make lemons and confuse the hell out of it

  8. Mim Sanders February 5, 2013 at 12:45 pm #

    I love the random fun surprises that life throws at us – don’t get bogged down with worry just follow that spooky spidersense and you won’t go far wrong!

  9. chrisman2college February 5, 2013 at 2:37 pm #

    Morgan – you should do Comm Studies. Take it from another Comm Department major! The best part about it is that it’s a really wide field and you can make it what you want it in a career. 😉

    Cathy

  10. onemunchingmomma February 5, 2013 at 4:58 pm #

    Degree or not, life has a way of bringing rich experiences you will not want to trade, if you have your eyes open. Embrace each moment! I don’t have a degree, but the things I have learned cannot be bought with a price. Best of wishes to you! 🙂

  11. uprofessor February 7, 2013 at 9:09 pm #

    First of. statistics are against your having a mid-life crisis unless you have good reason to believe that you’ll die in your forties. That said, you really have no right to have a mid-life crisis. The mid-life crisis is the excuse that old f@rts like the grad faculty that I work with use to explain their asinine behavior like fooling around with a student, going on sabbatical, etc..

    Advice: calm down. You know how to teach. How many years did you spend in school? What did your teachers do? What do your professors in your university do? (God help you if you attend MY university). Just pick a very simple topic, let the kids use crayons and paper. If you teach grammar, assign each part of speech a color. put increasingly complex sentences on the board and have them write each word in the proper color! It’s easy stuff. You’re overthinking it!

    Good luck

  12. raymondarthur February 15, 2013 at 1:51 pm #

    You will be more than okay 🙂

  13. http://ibook21.com/ March 20, 2013 at 6:10 pm #

    You are unlikely, in this situation, to have
    a power socket following you around, so Bluetooth, if you must have wireless, is
    the only answer. It is pretty much like enjoying a private screening of a movie except that we give such privilege to our ears rather than to our
    eyes. As speculated earlier the home button is now not expected to be
    different from the existing one and the traditional, circular
    home button is now said to be sustained in this version too.

Leave a Reply

