London Calling

30 Jan

Hey guys!

I’m having a pretty good start to the semester, and by that I mean that I don’t totally hate any of my classes, which I think is a first. Granted, it’s still only my second week, but I’m pretty sure that in semesters past I could at least tell which class I hated by this point.

Mostly since I’ve been back, I’ve been working a lot! I kind of have to pay back my parents about $1,200 and I don’t really want to be indebted to them for my whole life. I picked up 3 shifts this weekend, so I’m really looking forward to payday. But you know what I’m trying not to do? Spend money using my debit card. For this reason I have no food in the house. I guess I’d rather starve than spend money. Because you know what I need to save for?!?!

londonThat’s right. In 210 short days (probably long days) (also known as August 28) I will be arriving in London!!! We had our first orientation meeting yesterday morning and got all the official paperwork that suddenly makes it seem like it’s really going to happen, instead of how it felt when I first signed up about a year and a half ago (like it was forever away). There are 5 girls and 1 boy signed up to go, and I only kind of know one girl, so we are going to room together. The dorms are triple though, so I guess we’ll get put with a random, which will be cool! Oh, and they told us that Regent’s College is super okay with people coming to visit and staying in your dorm for a week with no extra cost! Sooo I wanted to say that you’re all cordially invited to come visit me in London at any point during the fall semester 🙂

Now I just have to register for classes before next Tuesday, which is proving tricky, and I was kind of freaking out a little when I was looking at my four-year-plan. But the good news is that it looks like I will still be graduating in time 😉

Talk to you later, mates!

Cathy

11 Responses to “London Calling”

  1. Awake and Unafraid January 30, 2013 at 12:41 pm #

    SO EXCITING! London is amazing. You’ll love it (which I’m sure you already know). Can’t wait to hear all about it once you get there. 210 days will fly by for sure.

  2. Megan January 30, 2013 at 1:37 pm #

    AHHH!!! SO JEALOUS. I will definitely try and take you up on the offer of visiting you!

  3. chrisman2college January 30, 2013 at 3:55 pm #

    Oh my goodness! I want to visit you so bad!
    and I’m glad you don’t hate your classes.
    Also, this summer we are all going to have to make the most of our time together, the older we get, the more busy we get.
    Morgan

  4. uprofessor January 30, 2013 at 6:31 pm #

    You’ll absolutely love London. There’s so much to see and do in the center of the city. I try to make it there every few years. You’ve GOT to check out Camden Towne. There’s a canal lock there and sort of a flea market. If you’re up on your British actors, you’ll see a surprisingly large number of them in time. Hugh Grant lives around there, and Amy Winehouse’s hangout was on the other side of the bridge. Then there are the museums. Be ready for sticker shock. The exchange rate doesn’t favor the dollar. The Brits are keeping the British Pound artificially expensive. In exchange, you’ll get one BP for $1.50 plus fees.

  5. thelastsongiheard January 30, 2013 at 10:00 pm #

    Take from an Englishman… DO NOT take euros! No bugger in England likes them… although, having said that, they *are* legal tender and you can use them in London, but if you go outside of London and try to pay for something with euros, be prepared for a dirty look or two. It’s like paying for something over here with a Canadian dollar.

    Let me know if you need help with the lingo… for example… we don’t all talk like someone from Mary Poppins… we don’t say “cor blimey, guv’nor, strike a light” and very few of us ever say “cheerio.”

    I hope you have a great time… you’ll be kept very busy, that’s for sure 🙂

  6. chebandbecky January 30, 2013 at 11:10 pm #

    I think you’ll love London, but remember that Paris is only 2 1/2 hours away…

    • chrisman2college January 30, 2013 at 11:15 pm #

      I went to Paris in the summer of 2011 for about 3 days, and I definitely wouldn’t be opposed to getting back there 😉

  7. sueromeiser January 31, 2013 at 8:25 am #

    Have fun in London. It’s a great city!

  8. Ashley Townsend January 31, 2013 at 1:31 pm #

    That is awesome! Go enjoy yourself for those of us who are stuck in the day-to-day. ^__^

  9. Saara February 4, 2013 at 11:34 am #

    Yay Cathy I’m so excited for you! London is my favorite city in Europe, you’ll love it 🙂

    Saara

    • chrisman2college February 11, 2013 at 12:55 pm #

      Awww, hi Saara! Thanks for the reply, I miss you! Maybe we could meet up there for a few days 🙂

      Cathy

Leave a Reply

