Back to School

23 Jan

Well, here I am, back at school. Upon my return, I was pleasantly surprised at how clean I’d left my room before break. I watched the Bachelor which was clearly much more important than unpacking.

Yesterday I had all three of my Spanish classes in a row. I think I’m going to like this. It really gets me “in the zone” to the point where I begin composing my text messages in Spanish when class gets over. And I have the same teacher who I love for the two of the classes. Basically all we did was say to the class: “Me llamo Cathy. Estoy en mi segundo año de universidad. Mis especializaciones son Español y Advertising and Public Relations. Soy de Kansas City.” Yep. Said that 3 times yesterday, mostly to people that I already knew and certainly to people who had already heard it once or twice that day.

I had a little bit of a book catastrophe. I gave my mom the list of 8 books before I went to Germany and she told me that she was able to get 6 of them. Unfortunately, at that point in time, the list I found on the website seemed not to have been updated. So one book I have is flat out wrong, and I still need 5 additional ones. How did my professors know about my passionate love for spending all my money on textbooks?

Last night was my first day of work at the new facility, and also my first day since like 6 weeks ago. During these 6 weeks, they also changed the computer system that is used so I had a feeling I was going to be really dumb and not very helpful at this job. I was right. But I learned a lot. I’m not sure if this was intentional but this center seems to have been built so that the receptionists can’t just sit in literally the same spot for the whole night and conduct all necessary business. Nope, there’s a lot more getting up and walking around and not being as lazy. Actually, I’m sure it was intentional. Lol. Also, they caught a mouse like 10 seconds after I walked in the door. Classy!

Not much else to say except that I’m really excited for this semester! I’m just trying to forget about last semester, The Semester From Hell, and I’m feeling really re-energized and positive and ready to get into these classes that I might actually be interested in. I hope it lasts!

Oh, and I’m really glad I got to see most of you over break, with the exception of Derek! Too bad we weren’t all home at the same time though! And Germany was awesome of course, I already talked about it with Megan and Kendyl but I also updated the “Our Travels” section of the blog!

Hope your guys’ first week (or second) (or 70-somethingth day of snowboarding) is going well!

Cathy

One Response to “Back to School”

  1. irishcsred January 23, 2013 at 12:38 pm #

    Ah the ol’ semester from hell. I remember that well. I swear I didn’t mean to rhyme that. I wish you the very best!

Leave a Reply

