Dislocated Shoulder

9 Dec

Last Tuesday I dislocated my left shoulder. I was snowboarding pretty fast (around 40 mph) down a not very busy part of the mountain when I jumped off a roller only to see a guy sitting on the other side. I didn’t see him until I was already in the air so when I landed all I could do to avoid him was make a very hard cut to my left. But the cut was too much for my knee which gave out causing my toe side edge to dig into the snow slamming me forward onto my head and shoulder which I felt and heard pop out of place on impact. Luckily I was able to pop it back in place with only one try, and I didn’t have to snowboard down the mountain with my shoulder out of its socket swinging around freely. Its been pretty sore very since I dislocated it and it makes a popping noise any time I lift anything or move my arm fast which sucks because my job is a lot of lifting things/people and having quick hands. I’m a little worried I might have torn something in my shoulder just because of the constant pain I have had the last week and the fact that I cant even hold my arm straight out without it shaking real bad and giving out.

It’s been snowing off and on but mainly on for about 4 straight days now and it’s not supposed to stop for another 2 days. A lot of snow means new terrain will open on the mountain very soon, which is great because I am getting bored with riding overcrowded green and blue runs. I’m ready for all the steeper  more challenging black diamond runs to open up along with tree skiing. All this snow also means powder to ride which I enjoy doing for than pretty much anything on earth. I don’t think there is anything more fun than floating through a few feet of fresh snow making fast sharp turns while bombing down the mountain as fast as possible.

About a week ago the Super Pipe here became the first in the world to open this winter. Being the only one in the world open it naturally attracted pretty much every professional skier and snowboarder on earth. In my last two weeks of work I have seen, met, or talked to more Olympic skiers/snowboarders then I can name, including two of my favorite snowboarders Shaun White and Louie Vito. I have wanted to learn to ride pipe since I first started snowboarding 5 years ago. But since my knee is still healing from ACL surgery I am going to wait another month until it’s at full strength, then I will finally ride a super pipe.

It’s hard for me to blog about my time here because for the most part I do the same things every day and every night. I either work all day and snowboard some, or I don’t work at all and I get to snowboard all day and every night I bro down throw down with my fellow employees (party, chill, have as much fun as humanly possible). I have snowboarded everyday for the last 31 days and although fun and super awesome I feel like it’s a little boring to blog about after a month and a half.

Days I Have Snowboarded This Winter: 34

Peace, Love, and Happiness

Live A Little

-Derek

3 Responses to “Dislocated Shoulder”

  1. wheeshmarie December 10, 2012 at 12:54 am #

    Yikes, that’s too bad about your shoulder. I hope it is not too painful for you.

  2. jadesandwich December 10, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

    That sounds…bad….to say the least…..Go to a doctor if you haven’t already!

  3. samssocial December 14, 2012 at 5:03 pm #

    Would love to try snowboarding. Hope your shoulder doesn’t slow you down too long.

Leave a Reply

