Christmas Spirit

6 Dec

Today was my last day of the semester. No finals and no more assignments. WAHOOOO! It’s been a pretty good semester at Mizzou and on many different levels, I’m happy about the change I decided to make with colleges. I couldn’t be more excited that I get an extra week off for break! I had been counting down the days to when I could finally drive back home and now I really can’t believe it’s here and that I’m actually at home. No place like home for the holidays!

image (1)Once I got back home, I put up a small Christmas tree and Christmas lights in my room. My room is super festive to say the least. I think it might be because my whole room is kind of small, so all the lights just reflect back on each other, giving it a more festive feel. Haha! My tree is one of those trees that has the lights attached already. The top half isn’t working. And as much as I love Christmas, I don’t think I’m going to go through each bulb to see which one is causing the whole thing to go out. Ain’t nobody got time for that. Well I guess I do, I’m just too lazy to do it.  Also today, I decided to go on a baking spree. I made roughly 6-7ish dozen sugar cookies in the shape of stars, Santa, Christmas trees, Santa’s boots, sleighs, and bells. I wasn’t expecting to make that much.. I just found an easy recipe online and started making it. I didn’t think 5 cups of flour was going to be THAT much… until I put it in the bowl and started mixing it. Good thing my mom stocked up on HyVee’s baking sale though. I am still in the process of icing them all. But I’m taking a break from it because my hand and neck hurts. I think I just might finish it tomorrow though because I’m pretty tired and also because I’m out of icing. This is also my first sugar cookie making experience. And it’s been pretty good so far. I was so worried that they were going to come out bad.

In other news… My mom has recently been addicted to some Chinese soap opera (yes, they exist). If she’s not cooking or at work, she’s on the computer watching that stupid show. Anyway, today she was starting to get frustrated because the internet has been cutting in and out and she couldn’t stream it on her computer, and she was making me do all the trouble shooting to try to fix it. Finally I got it work… and I could have sworn she was crying at the end of one of the episodes. SMH is all I have to say about that… Haha.

-Megan

One Response to “Christmas Spirit”

  1. klyse3 December 7, 2012 at 9:12 pm #

    Still another week to go….but this was my last day of actual classes! The chinese soap opera….I’m just going to say that Asian stuff is surprisingly addictive. I’m borderline a KPOP fan and I am in love with American Asian filmmakers.

Leave a Reply

