#RoommateProbz

5 Dec

Although it’s clearly the very best month of the year, things have been a little on the hellish side so far.

Here’s a word of advice: never work with an architecture student on a big project, because they will be too busy spending 12 hours or more in the architecture (architorture?) studio every day and not giving a damn about whatever project they’re supposed to be working on with you. Which is understandable, you know, it’s just annoying when I have to research Springfield’s “Natural Disaster Preparedness Action Plan” and write a proposal on how to improve it complete with a financial analysis in the form of a 6+ page paper that my teacher is actually going to submit to the city of Springfield.

We’ve also had our first “roommate conflict” in the house. The other night I heard Kayla complaining to Deidre about me and Caitlin. I don’t think she knew I was home, but I was actually standing in my room with my ear pressed up against the door. Then she proceeded to write a very rude and passive aggressive note on our whiteboard, rather than talk to us about the problem. That went over very well. The next day we had a “house meeting” which consisted of Kayla yelling at me and Caitlin. Also Deidre didn’t say a word even when we asked her to. So then I had to go to work, and I left in very dramatic fashion with Kayla maybe realizing that she was wrong as I walked out the door because she said “Cathy,” and put her hand on my shoulder but I said “I don’t want to talk right now.” But when I got to my car I realized that I had left my purse in my room, but I didn’t want to ruin my soap-opera exit by going back in to get it. So I just drove to work without my license, #YOLO.

In other very important news, I bought some nail polish on eBay last week. It’s called Maybelline Color Show Sequins, and it was limited edition for the month of November but it was the sparkliest nail polish I ever saw in my life so I just knew I needed to have it. The bad part was that I couldn’t find it ANYWHERE so I had to go with good old eBay. I’m practically a pro at that by now. Hopefully it will arrive before I get home next week, but here’s what it’s going to look like.

colorshow

I still have class for the rest of the week but these classes consist of fiestas and watching videos, I just have a lot of shit to turn in beforehand.

Cathy

6 Responses to “#RoommateProbz”

  1. Megan December 5, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

    living on the edge. diving without a license. made me lol! 🙂
    cute polish!

  2. Janelle December 5, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

    That nail polish is gorgeous!

    Also, I’m so glad I live alone now.

  3. lilymoredesigns December 6, 2012 at 2:01 am #

    love reading ya’lls blog 🙂

  4. chrisman2college December 6, 2012 at 3:49 am #

    I feel ya on the roommate probs.. That’s my life right now… It’s super. But you have new sparkly nail polish and they don’t so you’re good 😉
    Miss you!
    Morgan

  5. cathy December 6, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

    Thanks for the comments, I miss you too Morgan! Right now everything is okay in the house, except that we kind of have that awkward air of “over-politeness” for now…

  6. Christopher December 7, 2012 at 12:53 pm #

    I definitely feel you on the roommate problems. The way my fraternity house is set up, there are eight rooms with twelve people (four singles, four doubles). My roommate’s girlfriend lives in our room.

    Every now and again, I’ll go to the kitchen to heat up my dinner, and when I come back to my room I’ll find myself locked out for about half an hour. What really irked me was I was trying to work on a final when this happened (once) and I ended up getting locked out for almost two hours. Quit irritating.

Leave a Reply

