Sociology *warning, this is a thinking post

3 Dec

This semester I took a class on the whim. My roommate talked me into taking a class with her and so without any further research except for her word I joined Sociology of Gender.

First thing that comes to my mind when I hear that title is: ew. The second: this will be easy. So going into class on day one, my expectations were pretty low. But, since then I have learned so much about how only a difference in gender can limit or able a person. Now, I’m no protesting feminist or the opposite, but I am right in the middle and the social issues covered so far in class have been very intriguing. Last week, for instance, we discussed rape and the definition of consent and what could be and should be changed about that definition. Also, we really dug into how during a trial, how a victim’s life is essentially put on trial and not the actual rape. For example, I think we all heard about the Kobe Bryant sexual assalt case from 2004. Just a random fact, the victim was a student at UNC and a student of my Soc teacher. Anyways, it is so ridiculous to me how her life was put on trial and the question of “Did she really day no?” was evidence rather than the actual evidence. Just reading through articles about this case shows how Kobe Bryant wasn’t really on trial but the girl. In my text book it talks a lot about how a victim’s past is introduced to discredit her testimony and  says that “even before trial, police and prosecutors make judgments about the victim’s credibility and the prosecutable merit of her case”. CRAZY

So Sociology really made me think, more than I guess really wanted to, but I have lots more social issues I’d be more than willing to discuss over break! 😉

To conclude: I am no fan of the Lakers, and those things are totally awful. Sorry to make you think a lot, tomorrow Kendyl will cheer us up- I’m almost 99.98% positive.

-Morgan

6 Responses to “Sociology *warning, this is a thinking post”

  1. T-Laugh December 3, 2012 at 10:33 pm #

    Ewwww Kobe. Ewwww rape. Ewww Todd Akin. Ewww Kendyl.

  2. chrisman2college December 3, 2012 at 11:09 pm #

    Stop don’t touch me there that is my no no square.

    When you graduate you can’t blog T.

    • laughlintristan December 4, 2012 at 9:04 pm #

      THAT IS HORSE SHIT

  3. livgrey December 4, 2012 at 2:41 am #

    It’s really good for you to have a good Sociology professor. We had two gender lectures in the beginning of the term (because of the 10:1 proportion men: women). And the professor was just awful! She told us, a woman at the uni of technology only has two choices: either stay an outsider or lose her feminity o_O that was really awkward!

  4. sharanpaul1 December 4, 2012 at 6:19 am #

    I took an Intro class on Sociology (required) thinking I would hate it. Surprisingly enough, I learned quite a bit. Even used Conflict theory to explain whores in Shakespeare!

  5. Mind Margins/Run Nature December 4, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

    Great post. Love your initial expectations about the class: “ew” and “this will be easy.” One of the best classes I ever took in college was a Women’s History course — taught by a man. I learned so much and women’s contribution to history, especially during WWII, and loved that he called himself a feminist (which is, by the way, nothing more than someone who believes in the social, political, and economic equality of women). So aren’t we really ALL feminists, especially us women? As someone who grew up in the dark ages of the 1970’s, I’m always amazed that it has still has such negative connotations.

Leave a Reply

