The negatives of sports

18 Nov

The lift operations department here at the resort has a few shifts that start at 5am, Last week I worked one of these shifts meaning I had to report to the Lift Ops locker room by 5am dressed and ready to work. I woke up at 4:30 probably setting the record for the earliest I have ever woken up for anything. After reporting on time to the locker room me and the 6 other people working the 5am shift walked out to the base of the mountain where we buckled into are snowboards/skis and hopped on the main chair lift heading up the mountain. I then looked up at the sky and saw more stars at once then I have ever seen my entire life, I felt completed surrounded by stars from being so high up the mountain, when I looked behind me away from the mountain the stars seemed to be almost at eye level. After the mile long ride I got off my chair and snowboarded the half mile or so to the bottom of the lift I was working for the day in complete darkness surrounded by stars and trees. After shoveling some snow at the bottom I rode a chair to my first station at the top lift shack one of the highest points on the mountain as the sun was rising. I worked a really long day 5am to 5pm but between the night sky, watching the sunrise, the awesome weather, and getting to snowboard on my lunch break it was probably my favorite day of work for any job I have ever had. Also you can’t beat getting to snowboarding to and from work.

I don’t know if it’s the cold weather, the altitude, or just that I snowboard everyday but most mornings when I wake up it seems like almost every part of my body I have ever injured is incredibly sore. My right knee is the worst it’s only been 4 months since my acl/meniscus surgery but most mornings it takes a few hours before I can even bend it more than 20 degrees or walk without a limp. My ankles aren’t much better, throughout the 12 years I played soccer I probably sprained each of them at least 5 times and usually after a day of snowboarding my ankles feel like they are on fire.

I can barely hold a pen or pencil with my right hand after surgery on my arm I broke 6 years ago playing soccer, and then hand surgery again after shattering the bone in the palm of my hand and around my thumb mountain biking last December also when it gets cold enough my arm and hand just generally ache in pain.

Last winter was my most painful injury. I caught an edge while snowboarding off a jump at a ski area in Missouri and dropped about 8 feet onto mostly solid ice landing on my back with my feet still in the air I also smacked my head on the ice. My first thought after falling on my back was “oh shit oh shit I hope I didn’t break my back” followed by “shit I might have a concussion”. But after rolling around in pain for a few minutes I ended up standing up on my own while still in extreme pain and hiking down the hill to my car where I sat for an hour before the pain resided enough for me to drive home. I had a horrible headache and a huge black bruise on my back the next day and I still have back pain every now and then from that fall if I stand up for extended periods of time.

I have never been diagnosed with a concussion but that’s probably because I have never gone to the doctor for a head injury. I have hit my head several times the worst last year when I was in college. While playing club soccer I ran full speed for a header and ended up getting knocked to the ground out cold after colliding with an Austrian on the team who was twice my size. After waking up I rolled around on the ground for a few seconds until I stopped seeing black, then I got up and kept playing with the worst headache and whiplash I have ever had.

I really want to get into surfing, climbing, and long boarding this summer because I think they would be a little easier on my body.

Peace, Love, and Happiness

Live A Little

-Derek

12 Responses to “The negatives of sports”

  1. a common sojourner November 19, 2012 at 1:05 pm #

    I have to say I feel your pain. I’m two years out from ACL/meniscus reconstruction and I still hurt in the mornings… especially during the cold Minnesota winters.

  2. sharanpaul1 November 20, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

    Oh my! You deserve your own reality show! My motto: If it was fun, it was worth it!

    • chrisman2college November 20, 2012 at 6:29 pm #

      Ha I like that motto, all but the acl tear were worth it.

  3. laughlintristan November 20, 2012 at 11:37 pm #

    Any body lighting up in Co. with the passed prop. 64? haha

    • chrisman2college November 21, 2012 at 10:45 am #

      Ya a lot of people do, and they still would with out the prop. lol

  4. chrisman2college November 21, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

    Tristan get out of here.

  5. sjh2011 November 22, 2012 at 7:16 pm #

    When it comes to food pain I feel ya. I had bunion surgery my senior year of high school and every time I snowboard both of my feet are killing after the end of the day because of it. However, I enjoy snowboarding too much to stop. P.S. you’re working in my absolute favorite place to board, CO! I’m spending my whole day black Friday boarding at Loveland Basin. Snowboarding will forever be greater than shopping.

    • Derek Neely November 22, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

      I agree, I would take snowboarding over anything any day. I will be spending my black Friday working at copper.

      • sjh2011 November 22, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

        Copper is awesome, but I prefer the basin, it doesn’t get as crowded. Then again, it is going to be black friday, so, it might not be as crowded as usual.

  6. romiroundtheworld December 2, 2012 at 6:43 pm #

    Autsch! Not sure if surfing is better for your body though, but it´s defenitly the best thing I ever did in my life 🙂

Leave a Reply

