RIP to my favorite band and almost to me graduating ever.

14 Nov

This past weekend was Jack’s Mannequin’s final show(s) ever. I am very distraught by this fact but feeling extremely lucky that I got to go to their concert last year. Last week I was searching for “Jack’s Mannequin” on ebay to see if there was any good merchandise, and I came across something that I thought only existed in my dreams: a large square poster of their first CD cover (my favorite) called Everything in Transit, which just so happened to be AUTOGRAPHED! It was even better than in my dreams! I’d pretty much given up hope on ever finding something like that, because I figured that it probably didn’t even exist in the world, but somehow it did. The bidding started at $9.99, and I ended up winning with a bid for $35. Not even feeling guilty about it. Totally worth it, good thing I have a job now right? Anyway, I’ve spent a lot of time this weekend watching videos of the concert on youtube and feeling nostalgic.

There were about 30 minutes this week where I thought I was just going to quit college, fo rillz. Wanna know why? Because of this damned little thing called class registration. I started preparing for this weeks ago. I had every semester planned until graduation, with everything I needed to get my Advertising and PR major, and Global Studies and Spanish minors. Students with more credit hours started registering last week, and I decided to go online and see how many seats were still open in the two classes that I absolutely NEEDED to take next semester, because they are pre-requisites to pretty much every communication class ever. So I go to the course search, and what do I find? BOTH OF THEM WERE EFFING FULL. WHAT!!!??? I didn’t understand! WHAT upperclassmen were signing up for these classes!? Surely if they really needed them, they would have taken them much sooner than the second semester of their junior/senior year?! I frantically emailed both professors asking them what I should do, I was also grudgingly thinking about having to move my study abroad to next spring…

Then I went into the living room to pout. I recounted my story of endless woe to Caitlin and Kayla. Caitlin asked me if I was sure that I was looking at the courses for spring semester, not fall. So I went back, and sure enough, I was looking at the courses that were already full because they were happening THIS semester. Whoops… then I checked spring semester and only like 2 or 3 seats were taken in each. You know what I had to do then, right? I had to email those professors and be like, lol jk, false alarm. But I was so happy that I gained my life back, that I wasn’t even that embarrassed. In other news, due to a strange turn of events, I’m taking senior seminar in Spanish next semester, nbd. Also thinking about just going ahead and majoring in it too.

In other other news, QUIDDITCH CUP CHAMPION RIGHT HERE. Proud member of the Hulking Hippogriffs. Quidditch sign-ups were individual or in pairs, and on the day of the tournament, they assigned teams. Luckily, Caitlin and I got put on a team with two super-athlete Frisbee players, and a cross country runner who could be the Seeker. I did score a few goals though! 🙂

Cathy

P.S. Question of the day: How the hell is Ms. Sparks’ nickname Libbi when her real name is Katherine??

One Response to “RIP to my favorite band and almost to me graduating ever.”

  1. Megan November 14, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

    LOL at the question of the day.
    congrats about quidditch! sounds like it was fun!

Leave a Reply

