Life

13 Nov

A few things I’ve come to know about myself: (in no particular order)

  1. I love change because I get bored very easily. Where most people get nervous wondering about their future and the unknown, I get excitement. It’s intriguing to me that things can change at the drop of the hat. Trust me, I have been on the bad end of this and it can be heartbreaking and terrifying, but I truly believe I am a lot stronger because of all the shit I’ve been through.  This has also taught me to take chances and not to put things off. Life is too short to say you will do things later, there isn’t always a later.
  2. I am not cut out for working hourly jobs, I’m just not. I mean anywhere where a uniform is required just cramps my style, literally.
  3. I want to be employed for the least amount of time possible. I don’t want to become a part of this endless cycle of birth, work and death. I want to live and experience so many things.
  4. I am not impressed by big houses or fancy cars, actually they are kind of a turn off for me. Yeah, sure I imagine myself excessively wealthy like most other people, but I don’t see myself spending that wealth on huge status symbols (well besides clothes, a girl has got to be stylish), I see myself spending them on travel and experiences.
  5. As of now I detest the idea of kids and that is honestly probably for the best, but I’d be lying if I said I hadn’t thought about it. I’m not really the mom type I mean I’m definitely not nurturing, but at some point I think I might want to try it out (not so sure about the pushing an 8 pound baby out of my vagina thing, but maybe adoption).  All I know for sure about this subject is that it will definitely be after age 38 (I want to be able to enjoy myself and be irresponsible while I still can J)
  6. My beliefs on things such as religion have changed immensely over the past year. I have started to question everything that was preached to me as a child more than I ever did before. I am a lot more comfortable with my spiritually or lack thereof, then I ever was previously.
  7. I have pretty strong feminist views. I really do get upset when I see women being undermined by men and inequalities between women and men make me irate. If any guy expects me to do anything for him that he is perfectly capable of doing, he has another thing coming.
  8. I’m lazy when it comes to things I am uninterested in, these include, but are not definitely limited to: cooking, cleaning, dishes, laundry, etc.
  9. I don’t spend enough time doing the things I love. I have such a vast array of interests and I need to better incorporate them in my life (this is one of the main reasons why I am planning on moving to Colorado).

10. I’m getting better at not caring about what other people think, but it is definitely a work in progress. I mean what gives anyone else the right to judge me based on the things I do, think, and believe. We’re all just here trying to figure it and I know that for the most part everyone else is just as confused as I am. (I’m just out here tryna function.)

11. I love my family more than anything else. I am unbelievably blessed to be so close to them and to have so much support from them.

Thats all for now.

Keep it classy.

-Kendyl

19 Responses to “Life”

  1. Derek Neely November 13, 2012 at 7:03 pm #

    I still dont have a roomate.Here in Colorado. Surrounded by snowy mountains. Erry Day Snowboarding. Just Saying.

  2. chrisman2college November 13, 2012 at 9:31 pm #

    Road Trippppp! Who’s in?
    When do you get a roommate and can you get free lift tickets???
    I’m having withdrawals from the mountains! I’m having to supplement it by listening to a lot of Of Monsters and Men lol.

    • Derek Neely November 13, 2012 at 10:42 pm #

      I dont know when I get a roomate I was told sometime between now and christmas. I can get you 50% off lift tickets, and if I have a creepy roomate I can get you a 50 a night slopeside room.

  3. cathy November 14, 2012 at 2:17 am #

    That was deep! Very classy.

  4. mblack47 November 20, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

    Couldn’t agree more about the having kids thing, I’m terrified. Yet, I want a family – meh.

  5. leilra November 23, 2012 at 10:12 am #

    I feel the same. I haven’t been able to stand my former jobs. I feel like there are better things in life than work. I’m trying to be a minimalist. I’ve realized the excess of stuff I have does’t make me happy. It just takes up a ton of space. I totally wanna travel. I have plans to WWOOF or couchsurf, hopefully. The idea of carrying a “creature” inside me for 9 months is kinda terrifying, lol idk. I just recently left Christianity. I finally realized it didn’t mesh well with me. Also, I’m still on the journey of not caring what people think. Well, sorry for the rant. I just felt the need to comment (:

  6. neelkanth November 24, 2012 at 11:55 pm #

    Thanks for your ‘Like’ on my blog post. I too have done the same thing on yours. Impressed by your blog, I feel like following you and this I am doing right now.

  7. Anjum Ahmed November 27, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

    I can relate to this quite a bit, having a “vast array of interests” which I too “don’t know how to incorporate into my life”. And that’s quite a mental struggle, where it seems there is no option to care for all your interests.

  8. geminidirection December 1, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

    As a female I agree with a lot of what you said. Traveling Definitely on my list. Already started. Honestly I went through 3 jobs within 2 months because I can’t focus on doing things I don’t love. It’s a miserable process and life is too short for that type of frustration. I’m a huge feminist as well, can’t stand it when a male tries to intimidate me with foolery… The only thing I disagree with is I would love to have children and I actually get a kick out of cooking and cleaning, go figure. I really respect this post though and I’m happy you were open about yourself. Good luck with your travels.

  9. innovatedmeadows December 4, 2012 at 6:51 pm #

    I like and that is all…btw, thanks for liking me

  10. nightingale December 18, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

    man, you are too mature for your age! There is hope for us all if you get to do your stuff. Looking forward to it! (Does that make me sound old?)

  11. mflahertyphoto December 19, 2012 at 11:33 am #

    Great post. If you’re like me, when I started traveling a lot I came up with all sorts of ideas of how to spend money if I ever became wealthy. And they didn’t involve more travel and experiences. Those don’t actually take a lot of money anyway. Ideas like building that school and funding some serious secondary education in western Nepal, for example. Or building an education program for alternative energy development in Malawi (and building my own self-sufficient home on the shores of Lake Malawi of course!).

  12. lifeplease December 20, 2012 at 6:51 pm #

    Agree on so many levels re kids,spirituality and being confident within yourself to not care what others think, as you get older.

  13. mgunns December 22, 2012 at 11:02 pm #

    well said .. I recommend not being too hard lined, leave room for growth. Cheers

  14. 2rainydaypeople December 23, 2012 at 3:43 pm #

    You know, … I’ve read all you’ve written here, and the comments of others. The one nice thing I’ve found about having lived a pretty “full” life is it takes a lot of different types to makeup this world we live in. (Personally, I could do without some of the “ugly’s,” but, I suppose they serve a role; I just can’t figure out what that might be.) We need the non-techno’s along with the organized, along with the “I’m just confused crowd.” Without all theses folks; NOT ANY OF US would ever get the chance to be who we will become. So, thanks for visiting and I wish you well! Have a big-dae!!!
    G.

  15. neelkanth December 23, 2012 at 11:58 pm #

    IT’S NICE THAT YOU ARE FOR A CHANGE. CHANGE, AFTER ALL, IS THE LAW OF NATURE.

  16. nabila1379 December 24, 2012 at 6:41 pm #

    This post was very frank. I really like the people who can examine their life like you. Lots of things to do in life, and if it is not done now, it may never be done. Every point of view is correct, and the error is mostly done by the owner of that view. I can’t say more. Fight for your life.

  17. puresusan December 31, 2012 at 9:03 am #

    What an insightful, honest post! To be comfortable living an authentic life (whatever that means to you) is something many people strive for… or are too afraid to strive for. I hope this inspires others to get to know themselves & have the courage to live their lives the way they want.

Leave a Reply

