Powder Days

11 Nov

I am currently eating chicken noodle soup for lunch. I will also have chicken noodle soup for dinner and probably breakfast tomorrow. Until I moved to Colorado I was not a fan of any canned foods but I went grocery shopping last week for the first time and realized canned foods, ramen noodles, and sandwiches are cheaper than steak, barbecue pork, ribs, sausage, bacon and all the other meats I love dearly. That being said I may drop down to an unhealthy weight by the end of winter, but the free snowboarding will make it well worth it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It has been snowing almost nonstop for the last two days here, I snowboarded all day yesterday in 7 inches of fresh powder as snow kept falling. Then today after snowboarding all morning my neighbor Cliff and I caught one of the first chairs up to the newly opened Ptarmigan trail up near the summit of the mountain. We dropped into Ptarmigan and were in waist deep powder almost all the way down. Deep snow is almost any snowboarder/skiers dream, it’s awesome when the snow is so deep that you feel like you are floating as you ride and you can get as gnarly as you want launching off make shift jumps or flying through the trees while going as fast as possible and if you wipe out it’s almost painless as long as you fall into the snow and not a tree. I have snowboarded more in a week here then I did all last winter in Kansas City, and I am not missing the icy slopes of the Midwest.

I had training this week Monday-Thursday I enjoyed most of it, I also got to meet all my fellow first year lift operators 99% of which live in employee housing with me and I also got a free lunch. My first day of work was Friday I worked a lift that was open only to racing teams which was a little boring because they are all so good that you don’t really need to help them load or unload, but I enjoyed it and I think I am going to love this job.

I think I am going to take an avalanche safety training course and buy some backcountry safety gear here pretty soon, that way once the heavy snow starts falling on the summits in a month or two I can go backcountry snowboarding away from the resort on the giant untouched mountains around here.

Peace, Love, and Happiness

Live A Little

-Derek

2 Responses to “Powder Days”

  1. glamskibum November 16, 2012 at 7:19 am #

    Definately jealous of the ski conditions you already have out west !!

  2. beliebinme December 2, 2012 at 11:17 am #

    Ah, that snow looks so lush!!!

Leave a Reply

