Colorado

4 Nov

Friday I left for Colorado, I packed 99% of my stuff the morning I left but I don’t own very many things so I had no problems. I did not enjoy the 10 hour drive here very much especially since this was the 5 th time in less than a year I have driven I-70 from Missouri to Colorado, but I made the whole drive without going crazy. I stayed in a hotel in Georgetown, Colorado friday night, then I moved in (dropped all my stuff on the floor) to my employee apartment saturday morning. Then after moving in my focus became 100% on getting my employee ski pass as quick as possible and after filling out a bunch of paper work and paying my rent I finally got it around 11 am and I was snowboarding by  11:15. After the lifts closed at 4:30 I went and picked up my uniform and watched football in the super nice lobby of our building with some other employees.

The most awesome thing about living here is how close I live to the slopes, today (sunday) I woke up at 8:15 got dressed grabbed a pop tart and my snowboard then after a 5 minute walk I was on the lift riding up the mountain where I boarded untill 4:30. Also within walking distance of me are several restaurants, shops, and a grocery store.

My roommate doesn’t move in for a few more weeks, so I don’t have to pick all my stuff up off the floor for a while. I have only been here 2 days but so far this place has been pretty awesome and I don’t think I will have a problem living here for 6 months, I have 4 days of lift operator training starting tomorrow.

-Derek

3 Responses to “Colorado”

  1. Kendyl November 7, 2012 at 12:12 am #

    Gahhh, so jealous right now!

  2. Erin November 9, 2012 at 12:58 am #

    Nice.. What mountain are you at? I was a lifty in Steamboat for the 07/08 season.

Leave a Reply

