What is this shit?

31 Oct

This past week has been really busy for me, I’ve only had 2 days off from work since last Sunday. Thursday night, I worked at the front desk and work was so boring and there was so little to do that I almost fell asleep in my chair.

Caitlin went home this weekend for the J-Biebs concert, so I didn’t think I’d be doing too much because we usually hang out all weekend. Friday night, one of the girls from Authentic and a few other girls asked if I wanted to go see “Perks of Being a Wallflower” with them and I was excited they invited me! So we stopped at Walmart to get candy and snacks first, then went to see it. Me and another girl from KC got really excited at the beginning because the movie theater company has a really funny introduction and we were looking forward to it.

“Wehrenberg” “Wehrenberg “Wehrenberg…”

The movie was good, and it got over around midnight. On the way back to school, we got stopped at… a sobriety checkpoint! I was super excited and I think it was all of our first times going through one. The police officer shined his light at all of us and got Erica’s license since she was driving and asked where we were coming from, and we said the movies, and he asked what we saw. He told us the last thing he was Magic Mike. Anyway it was pretty painless.

Saturday I worked at the front desk again and it was the best day so far. In the staff room there were Halloween cookies and candy bags for us. There was a baby shower in the community room and a lady asked us if we wanted cupcakes. We watched tv and listened to Taylor Swift’s new album. I got some homework done. One girl I was working with was painting her nails like that’s a totally normal thing to do as a front desk receptionist, but since she’s worked there for like 6 years I would trust her. Later she made us pizza pockets for dinner. If that’s the kind of stuff I get paid to do, I am more than happy.

When I got home Saturday night, Kayla, Tobi, and Deidre were getting ready to go to the quad for Halloween and I assisted with their costumes. The quad is where all the fraternity houses are/where the parties all are. I didn’t go to the quad last year but I kind of wanted to this year but I hadn’t made any plans. I texted Candace and asked if she was going, and she said their group was going in like an hour and a half, so I was like crap, I need to dress up! As you can see from my updated “about me” picture, I dressed as my old standby of hipster.

The quad was weird. It was all blocked off with orange plastic fencing so the only way in was through the Lambda Chi Alpha house. Police officers waited at the entrance and checked our Drury ID’s because they didn’t want anyone from Missouri State to get in. Also they wrote huge “M’s” for MINOR on our hands with a big fat black marker.  We danced in all the houses, watched a lot of people stumble down hallways and pass out in doorways, and my personal highlight was when a girl from that I haven’t seen in a while grabbed my hand, slurred “Do you remember me?” and then kissed me on the cheek. Also when two girls came around with pumpkin buckets and offered “Candy or Condoms?”

Worked again Sunday, got free pizza from a birthday party. Seriously, this is my kind of job.

Yesterday I woke up with a cold though. And last night, I slept for a grand total of… zero minutes! That’s right, I did not sleep a single second last night. My heart rate is really high and it felt like my body was/is  basically in panic mode. My whole body is sore from the cold and I CAN’T SLEEP! I emailed my professors around 4:00am because by then I basically decided I wasn’t going to class. Also I had to email the volunteer coordinator at the animal shelter, and I was scheduled to work today so I had to call in. Around 5:30am I called my parents and they told me to go to Walgreens when it opened (stupid, they aren’t 24 hours like at home) so I went at 7:00am and got some Benadryl to make me drowsy.

When I came back to the apartment I still couldn’t sleep, so I went to the nurse that opened at 8:30. She gave me some stuff for a cold, and told me to take another Benadryl. She told me to come back if my heart rate didn’t go down.

I just went back to the nurse. I can sleep for about 15 minutes at a time, even though it’s very shallow sleep and I wake up very suddenly. What is this shit??? It reminds me of when I had to go to the ER in the middle of the night on Christmas during senior year because I was dehydrated. They gave me an IV and I got knocked out to sleep, and it was awesome. I got a doctor’s appointment for 2:00, but I wish they would just give me an IV too, but I doubt that will happen. I hope I can get some sleep soon :-/

Cathy

P.S. I totally forgot it’s Halloween. Guess I am not in the “spirit”… haha get it, spirit

 

2 Responses to “What is this shit?”

  1. chrisman2college November 1, 2012 at 1:32 am #

    I wish you felt better! Being sick at school is the worst, no one cares for you hand-and-foot. I totally would if I could.
    Again, I am really jealous of your job… getting paid to be unproductive is living the life 😉
    Get well soon!!
    -Morg

  2. muffinsandmocha December 3, 2012 at 10:21 pm #

    Hello! I just started following your blog. Thanks for liking mine! I’m sure we have stuff in common considering we are both burned out college students haha. I am SO ready for this semmester to be over. What are you going into? Feel free to follow me @ muffinsandmocha.com on here. I also have a page called lyti.org on here as well which focusses on animals if your into that. Ok anyway have a nice night.

Leave a Reply

