Swag Might Pay the Bills

24 Oct

I had such a wonderful, relaxing, sleep-filled fall break. Legit. I was sad when it came to an end. It will always be thought upon fondly…

Monday was back to school, blahhhh school ew. I got a free t-shirt from the Career Planning & Development Office though. It says “Swag won’t pay the bills” which is apparently supposed to scare us into coming to the career planning & development office because we need to plan our lives once our swag runs out. However I do believe that swag has paid Justin Bieber’s bills pretty well so far. Hmm.

I had my first day at work on Monday. I worked at the rock climbing wall. I did not sign up to work at the rock climbing wall. But I got scheduled to do it (it added me 7 hours this week and 10 next week) so I was like yeah sounds good I’ll do the rock wall. Basically the guy said we can do whatever the hell we want when no one is there, which is about 95% of the time. Only about 4 kids came to climb in the whole 4 hours but they only climbed for like 5 minutes each. And then when I got back to school, I made the Potter Puppet Pals video, it was awesome. I’ll let you guys know when it goes online.

Yesterday my climate change professor randomly decided to tell us about her husband’s affair. And a Chinese boy in my Calculus class decided to sit in a chair in front of the door so our teacher couldn’t get in. That was a sufficiently awkward and delightful time.

Then I had my first day of work at the front desk which was also pretty easy and I got to text a lot. We thought that one child got kidnapped from the Tae-Kwon-Do class, but false alarm.

Today I had class and then volunteered at the animal shelter. It was nice, the puppies were eating their own shit today. Then I came back home to the apartment and got ready for day 2 of work at the rock climbing wall.  Only one kid climbed tonight. I climbed twice, I almost got to the top (about 5 feet away (it’s 28 feet tall)) but then I started feeling like jello so I decided I should let go. I felt pretty accomplished though considering I never climbed one of those things before!

And then I stopped at Dollar General because I needed to get Carrie a birthday card, and then I saw peanut butter M&M’s and realized that I needed those too.

So I just got home and Kayla and Tobi are playing “A Team” by Ed Sheeran in Kayla’s room on the guitar and piano and they’re singing. I love living with musical people!

 

Also… #throwback

Cathy

One Response to “Swag Might Pay the Bills”

  1. Morgan October 25, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    Your job sounds pretty great! Except for the kidnapping scare.. literally lol-ed when I read about that (:
    And I cannot get over how great the picture of all of us is… my favorite thing ever. Nice job!

Leave a Reply

