Work Hard, Play Hard

14 Oct

Copper Mountain got more snow this week, this picture is of the village at the base of the mountain where I will be living, only 18 days until I move there.

I have been researching guide jobs for next summer and I found a company I like called Ace Adventure Resort located in West Virginia. They have a lot cool guide jobs like white water rafting guide, zipline guide, atv guide, rock climbing guide, kayaking guide, sup board guide, mountain bike guide and more. Also its all located in a very scenic area of the Appalachian Mountains, and it looks like there would be a lot of awesome stuff to do when I am not working all for free. The catch is if employed by them my choices for housing would be my own tent on an employee campground for free, or a very basic cabin with no electricity and I would live in one of these from may to october. Although living in a cabin for several months would be a cool experience and I would be able to save up a lot of money  I am not sure if I want to do it. Not having electricity means I would have to cook food over a campfire or a wood stove which would be a healthy alternative to all the microwaved food I currently eat, and I would probably even have to do laundry by hand seeing as no electricity means no washing machines. The resort looks like it would be a ridiculously awesome place to work at though, and who knows if I do decide to apply there and get hired mabey I can convince some friends to work there with me (Cough cough fellow chrisman2college bloggers). You can check them out at http://www.aceraft.com/

Besides working I am still spending a lot of time rehabbing my knee, I have been running every day for the last two weeks and doing various knee exercises designed to strengthen it. Hopefully it will be healed up soon before I start snowboarding here in a few weeks.

Next weekend I will not be posting, I am going down to Bentonville, Arkansas to camp, mountain bike, cliff jump, and eat at my favorite restaurant on earth http://www.hammontreesgourmet.com/.

Anybody see this episode of the office? I thought Megan might get a kick out of asian Jim.

Peace, Love, and Happiness

Live A Little

Derek Neely

One Response to “Work Hard, Play Hard”

  1. Megan October 14, 2012 at 1:13 am #

    HAHA! yeah. that episode was pretty great!

Leave a Reply

