46 Days Till Colorado!

15 Sep

I am counting down the days until I leave for Colorado on Nov 2. However I am not looking forward to driving 11 hours there all by myself. I am looking forward to snowboarding EVERYDAY for 5 1/2 months, hopefully I make it through the winter injury free. I am going to be living a dorm sized room with a random roommate, but I wont know who my roommate is until I meet him face to face hopefully he wont be weird. All and all this winter should be Legen wait for ittttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt Dairy.

I haven’t done anything special lately I have just been working a lot, last Friday and Saturday I worked all day open to close. I’m trying to make up for the money I lost when I had to take a month off work for my acl surgery so I asked for extra shifts. I find Independence to be pretty boring most the time especially since most the people I know are away at college, and for the time being I do miss being in college where I was never really bored. I went up to Northwest last week to visit friends, I ended up explaining several times why I wasn’t in school and I was amazed at how many people seemed to idle me and want to want to drop out like me or take a year off once they heard what my plans are for traveling and working the next few years. I’m not sure how great of an example I am for others though if I am making them want to drop out of college. Also I visited the crap house that my friends Jon, Cliff, and Josh are living in this year. It’s on the very edge of Maryville 20 minutes from campus, there are holes in some of the walls, the kitchen window has been replaced with cardboard, theirs graffiti on the living room wood floor, the roof leaks, and there is a hole in the upstairs bathroom floor big enough to fall through but they are paying super cheap rent and party houses like theirs will soon be get trashed anyways. Honestly I would probably be living with them this year in their crappy house had I stayed at Northwest.

I am already putting a lot of thought into what I want to do next summer and I decided I want to be an outdoors guide of some sort. I’m trying to decide between being a white water rafting guide, Zip line guide, mountain bike guide, kayaking guide, SUP board guide, backpacking guide, climbing course facilitator, or working at a marina in a national park somewhere. Beside deciding what kick ass summer job I want I also have to decide where I want to do it and my choices so far are Yellowstone national park, Colorado, Utah, Yosemite National Park, West Virginia, Maine, Minnesota, Michigan, Montana, California, Oregon, Washington, Alaska, Hawaii, and Costa Rica. Honestly I have so many awesome job choices in so many awesome places that I have no idea how I am going to choose, but I have spent a lot of time on http://www.coolworks.com/ which is where I found my Ski Resort job.

Fact: Whenever I finally live in my own house I am going to spend a lot of time on the roof

You Gotta Stay Fresh

Live A Little

-Derek Neely

One Response to “46 Days Till Colorado!”

  1. cathy September 16, 2012 at 8:35 pm #

    Thanks for reminding us you’re alive.

Leave a Reply

