A Whole Lot of Random

13 Sep

Hey guys!

To be honest.. I’m not too sure what to write about. This week has been pretty mediocre. So just an FYI, this post is probably going to be kind of random and probably won’t have much structure at all. Lol.

Me and Kendyl have been going to play tennis quite a bit after our tennis tryout fiasco. Sometimes I don’t feel like going, but after hitting, I’m usually glad I ended up going. It’s keeping me active-ish so that’s good.

Friday was the 25% off everything at the bookstore again. I invested in a new green CamelBak water bottle and new t-shirt. Worth the money. Haha!

Monday after we got home from class, I watched the entirety of the US Open finals between Murray vs. Djokovic. It was worth my time  as well as a very entertaining match. I was probably leaning more towards Djokovic to win, just because I like him a little bit better than Murray, but I’m really glad that Murray ended up winning because he certainly deserves it. And it’s historic for Great Britain as well. And I’m all about the Brits. Haha!

Yesterday we went to the first Student Nurses Association meeting of the year. There are so many people in that orginization. I swear I thought it was going to be smaller. We showed up late, but not on purpose. Just so happened that the meeting is a 5. Prime rush hour. And also most of campus is 4 way stops. And everyone and their mom was parking on campus, so we spent a good 20 mins or so I would say, driving around looking for a place to park. There was also a fall-fest thing on campus at that time too so that’s probably added to the traffic as well.

During our 2 hour break in between some classes we’ve been going down to the basement of the student union. It’s a un-official quite area. They have super comfy couches there. And I finally took a nap on the couches yesterday. It was nice. Except there was a creepy guy that sat across from my couch. And he wore polarized sunglasses as he was napping… at least I think and hope he was napping…

I think I’m getting a little bit homesick. It’s not that I don’t love Columbia and Mizzou. I really do love it. It’s very much the type of environment I wanted for college. But I just miss the familiarity I had with Independence (as much as I really do hate the city), and familiar faces, etc. And definitely my mom and family too… I mean at Jewell, I was around the KC area, so being homesick and going home was never really an issue. I was 20 minutes from home. whoop-dee-do. Now I’m 2 hours away. And gas is $3.79 a gallon. (WTF.) It’s definitely been quite the change from what I’ve been used to. Not sure if I could’ve moved all the way out to CO. I applaud you, Morg. But I guess it just takes time adjusting to it all.

Also, I think I’ve hit the sophomore slump as well. I have little to no motivation to do much of anything academic. Which is bad because I have 2 tests next week and my parents have been on my case about being lazy. But I mean I’d rather be watching tv shows than reading about nutrition. Admit it. You would too. It’s also getting harder and harder to wake up for class every morning. Seriously guys, how did we ever make it through high school?

Also, since most of our classes are introductory levels, we get stuck with mostly freshmen. Not the cool freshmen. The annoying ones. Especially in biology. The other day, two sorority girls sat behind us and all through class all we could hear was them giggling. I honestly could have punched them both. And the athletes. Just don’t sit next to them. I could punch them as well. I just don’t understand why they choose to go to class because they don’t do anything but talk to each other during class.

Anyway on a positive note, I got a pumpkin spice latte from Starbucks after class today. It was so good. And now I only need 6 more stars before I reach the gold level! I should have 7 stars left, but I think there was a glitch and I got two instead of just one. Whateves! Get’s me closer to my gold card!

My last pay check goes into my account tomorrow. And it’s also black and gold Friday again at the bookstore. Not a good combo.

And also, I’m really digging this weather we’ve been having. Ahhh… hoodie and jeans weather. I opened my room’s windows today and just listened to it rain for like 10 minutes. It was relaxing. Legit.

Alright, that’s all I got for this week!

Peace.
Megan

2 Responses to “A Whole Lot of Random”

  1. cathy September 13, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

    I got kind of homesick pretty soon after Labor Day last year. But I got over it! You probably will soon too.

  2. morgan September 15, 2012 at 1:41 am #

    The only reason I survived out here was Tori and her family (plus skyping and g+ helped too). So, thank you. And we should g+ soon!
    Oh and You know how I hate watching tennis on the TV… well I watched the 4th and 5th sets of the Murray vs Djokovic match- it was pretty cool not gonna lie!

Leave a Reply

