Image

Year 2 here at Mizzou!

30 Aug

I’m just going to go with the flow of what everyone else has done so far…

Here’s my room at the townhouse! Lol.

         

The first two weeks have been pretty good so far. My classes are quite larger than what I’ve been used to for the most part. My biggest class is upwards of 300-400 (legit elbow to elbow). MWF I have Bio, Nutrition, and Sociology. TTh I only have one class and I’m done by 11.– The Amish Community. That is actually quite an interesting class and by far my smallest class (about 30 people). My Amish Community professor is probably one of my favorites right now. She’s a cute, petite little older lady, and she super nice. I’m only taking 12 credits this semester. And I’m almost regretting it because 1) I don’t have too much to do. And 2) I’m going to have to load up on classes next semester.

Last weekend my dad, step-mom, and grandma came to visit. So we walked around campus a little bit. We had to walk through Peace Park and just so happens there’s a protest going on. I think their motto/slogan/whatever was “Let your breasts hang free” or something of that nature. I’m not exactly sure what they were protesting or what it was about… But there were some hippie looking people, some males wearing bras and one female walking around demonstrating what their slogan was about. A lot of people were standing around and a bunch of journalists were interviewing people who are there. Definitely a totes querd moment. Especially when your parents and grandma are with you. I booked it out of that are as fast as I possibly could, for sure.

Okay so let me tell you about today. It was a weird day… I definitely left early enough to get to campus on time and catch the shuttle and walk to class with extra time. I took the back road to campus. It’s called a “scenic route”. It’s got hills, some curves in the road, trees… AND SPEED TRAPS. WTF. I hate cops. Especially at the end of the month because they have to meet their DAMN QUOTA and are at like every corner!! WTF!! Anyway so I was going 42 in a 30. And if you haven’t seen my tweet yet, I got a ticket. The cop lady was pretty nice though. I think she saw that I was scared shitless. Anyway after she took my licence and came back to my window, she was like, “Unfortunately I have to give you a ticket.” BULLSHIT! You just have to meet your damn quota!!! Sorry for the language– I’m still angry about it. But she said she dropped the speed down to 40 instead of 42 because apparently there’s a big difference in price. IDK. After class I called my mother and told her. That was a nice and lovely conversation. Totally being sarcastic. So that’s the story of me being pulled over for the first time, and me getting my first ticket. Definitely hope that doesn’t happen again. When I saw the lights in my rear view mirror, that sinking feeling definitely happened in my stomach. I definitely had like a million and one thoughts running through my head. And I could literally feel my heart pounding out of my chest. Not a pleasant memory.

Anyway, like Kendyl, I’ve been applying for jobs like crazy. I feel like I spend more time apply for jobs than I do actually doing homework. I JUST WANT A JOB. I got rent to pay, groceries to get, books to buy, college to pay for, and speeding tickets to pay off! Pray for me people…

Speaking of spending money… Tomorrow is Black and Gold day and at the bookstore all students get 25% off! Me and Kendyl are planning on getting to campus a little bit early since our 8AM is canceled so we can get a head start on spending our money. At least I’m not getting things at full price..?

Have a nice labor day weekend, wherever it may be at! In Greely or at White trash fest! 🙂

Megan

2 Responses to “Year 2 here at Mizzou!”

  1. cathy August 30, 2012 at 11:22 pm #

    I spy a chocolate frog!

    Also, that’s so funny/interesting/cool that you’re taking that Amish class! I heard CoMo has like one of the largest Ex-Amish communities of all time!

  2. Megan August 31, 2012 at 12:22 am #

    yep!! my chocolate frog is almost gone though. sucks!

    did not know that about CoMo! that’s interesting!!

Leave a Reply

