the end

10 May

Hello all!

I write this from the comfort of my own couch while watching House Hunters International on TV. I woke up at 11:30 and it’s a great feeling indeed.

My last week was pretty good, I’d say. I don’t remember much about the weekend. Monday I picked up my final photo assignment and I found out I got a 91% in the class… WTF! I was pissed because I got an A on every assignment and didn’t understand how that equated to me getting an A- in the class… That was until I re-read the syllabus and apparently you lose 15 points every time you don’t come to class (Stupid, I always got my assignments done early, so why would I come to class another 3 times for 3 hours each when I had nothing to work on?!) but anyway after I realized that I had in fact “earned it”, I wasn’t mad anymore.

I got a 97% in Multimedia (video) class. I had a final paper due for Alpha Seminar about my first year of college. We turned it in on Tuesday and our final consisted of eating pizza and having to dance out the door when we left. I’ll paste the last paragraph of my paper here because I believe it’s relevant to my “first year of college is over” post.
“With that, I am feeling a lot more confident about my next year, assuming it really does arrive in mid-August as I finally suspect that it will. I’ve learned a lot this year – a moderate amount of academic skills, and an extreme amount of oh-shit-I’m-almost-an-adult skills. All in all, I have immensely enjoyed my first year of college and it was less agonizing than expected.”

Monday I didn’t have any finals so Caitlin and I went to this cute little crepe restaurant downtown for breakfast. I had a strawberry, banana, and Nutella crepe. Yum. I began packing, but I took pictures of my room first so I would always be able to remember how it was my freshman year. I’ll post them because I know Morgan is the only one who really saw it!

Tuesday I had my Spanish final which I didn’t study much for because I had an “I don’t care” attitude. YAY!

Wednesday, after 5 hours in the library on Tuesday night (which I mostly didn’t study but instead read “Full House Reviewed,”
(which I highly recommend if you are at all familiar with the show and want to laugh)) I had my computer science final. I think I did decently.

My mom came yesterday at 2:15 and I had to check out at 4:30. We took things to the car, and then walked over to a friend’s Summit apartment so I could show my mom the set up of where I’ll be living next year. Then we went to the on campus fast food place, and we got something to eat. Too bad I still had $115 Panther Bucks left… oops!

In all, I was feeling pretty sad to leave and it was such a weird feeling! I’ll miss living in Wallace Hall… at least until I think about the boys on the floor above me who apparently decided it was time to drag their furniture around the room every night at 2:00am…

My first and last days in Wallace Hall

Today I looked online and saw that I earned a B+ in Spanish but my teacher bumped my grade to an A-! I posted a twitter status about it saying “A- in Spanish, heck yeah!” until I saw that another girl in my Spanish class had posted “B in Spanish, so happy!” 27 minutes before me, so I thought that was in bad taste and deleted mine. At 3 today I went to UpDog and filled out my tax forms… I start Monday! Can’t wait 🙂

I hope to see you guys soon!
Cathy

Leave a Reply

