Let’s Mate, lawl

28 Mar

The last half of my spring break was a lot like the first: uneventful. But I loved every minute of it.
I got to hang out with Nick on the plaza on Saturday! Yay!

Sunday I left home at 4, and when I got back to school at 7 the sun was still out! Yay again! I was pretty happy to be back, not happy about the classes that would inevitably follow, but it is what it is.

Monday I found out that I got a 93% on my Spanish oral presentation – I’m very happy because that guy never gives A’s. If he does, it’s usually a 90. So 93 was quite welcome to my eyes. It was a pretty easy day in that class; since he’s from Argentina he made this big presentation about it and we got to hold a 1,000,000 (peso?) bill because he said inflation was so bad that he was a multimillionaire. Then he got out this suspicious little silver cup with a thick metal straw and told us about this drink called “mate” (no, not MATE like “the animals MATEd”, but mate pronounced like “mott-ay”). It looked like drugs. But anyway he said he drinks it every day and he said we could try it too. So he gave it to one girl and she was about to wipe off the straw and he said NONONO that’s a symbol of friendship when people all share the same straw. Anyway, whatever I drink wine after people at church so I decided to try it. It tasted NASTY. Well I don’t like tea so that probably didn’t help my perception of it. But I would not recommend it.

Monday night, some friends were having a surprise party for my ex-suitemate Alexis. It was at Springfield Incredible Pizza Company, and the price was incredible…Y HIGH!! But it was good, and we played some laser tag.

Yesterday was really fun, not really. It wasn’t too bad though. My photography teacher was surprisingly agreeable and OK’d all my prints on the second copy (after making some changes)… usually it takes 3 or 4 tries. But maybe he just knows we’re all starting to run out of paper. I had class until 3, and then Moritz and I finally skyped! That was so nice. The good news: His tests are finally over!!!!!! The bad news: that means like a week of solid partying (I won’t comment on that). The other bad news: his schools he applied to STILL haven’t received anything from him. Hmmm. But anyway, we got to talk a lot and it was super awesome.

Last night I went to an informational “mixer” about becoming a Drury Ambassador, AKA working with alumni when they come to visit. I didn’t really want to go but I decided to. You had to get invited and about 60 people showed up. They said they only wanted to get like 15-20 new people but you have to interview for it. So now after going I think it would be cool to get, but if not oh well I don’t really care.

Today I had advising with my alpha professor to pick my classes for next semester… FFFFFFFFFFFF. (Hint: I’m having a hard time choosing classes that don’t all meet at the same time. My professor suggested a class which would meet a requirement, which is from 3-4:30pm T/H, entitled, “The Bible, Sex, and Sexuality.” The class is taught by an openly gay woman professor who is also a devout Christian. Sounds interesting, but I don’t wanna be in class until 4:30! Hence, my pickyness regarding class times is causing my problems.)

Keep it real

Cathy

Leave a Reply

