There’s a Hash Tag for That

8 Feb

Hey good news everybody, I’m having a way better Wednesday than I did last week. Not a whole lot has been going on; Friday night/Saturday my mom and Becky came to visit after a college visit to Rolla. We ate Chinese food for dinner, went to my favorite coffee house for Oreo Quicksands, shopped at Charming Charlies, looked for a prom dress for Becky, ate at an Italian restaurant, and went to The Cup. I may just be 10 pounds heavier now but I’m gonna go out on a limb and say it was worth it.

My friend Kayla and I have been going to the fitness center pretty much every weeknight (unless something else is going on). This makes the fourth week. On Tuesday (Valentine’s Day), since both of our boyfriends aren’t really in the same country as us, we are going to have a woman date. Kayla doesn’t get out of class until 5:45 on Tuesdays so we will probably go out to eat after that and then go see “The Vow” at the movies, probably at like 11 or something if they still have showings then. We’re also going to buy Valentine’s themed chocolate, etc at the grocery store to make up for the stuff we won’t be getting. It really sucks that Moritz has so much studying to do because we really won’t be talking much for about 6 weeks, but Kayla is the one in her relationship that is so busy with school, that she doesn’t even talk to (Tobi) for like 3 or 4 days at a time, at all. We always talk at least a little bit. I think I’m handling it well… for now.

Remember how I applied for some jobs or something? Sunday (two weeks after applying), Best Buy called me. I applied for Sales Associate, but it was the Geek Squad! He wanted to ask me about my experience with computers. I conveniently forgot to tell him that I got a 39% on a computer science test last semester. Well, I tried to make myself sound good but I’m not sure how convincing I was. At the end though he asked me to clarify my availability and I feel like they must have been desperate if they pulled my application from another department, so I’m still hopeful.

The last noteworthy occurrences are pertaining to my wonderful school. We now have our own hashtag on Twitter, called #DUprobz. This has been expanded to a Twitter account, also named @DUprobz . The profile picture is of Bob Barker, former host of “The Price is Right” and also a Drury graduate. After about one week, @DUprobz has almost 250 followers, which is like 1/6 of the school probably. Some of my favorites:

  • The kid across from me in the Olin Library keeps farting, but he must think I can’t hear it because I have headphones in. @DUprobz
  • I was late for class because the CX took so long making my mocha smoothie. #DUprobz
  • Explaining to your relatives that you go to Drury UNIVERSITY not Drury Inn Hotels and Suites. #TheresADifferenceGrandma #DUprobz
  • DU solution: Take the windshield wipers off your car. Now security doesn’t know where to put your parking ticket. @DUprobz
  • Commons girl put 5 mini corndogs on my plate but then took one back. Apparently she knows I can’t handle 5.
  • Is it safe to go in the Drury library bathroom today or is there gonna be another naked hobo in there? @DUprobz
  • I dropped a cup in the Commons today and received a round of applause accompanied by vulgar insults and mom jokes. #DUprobz

The other funny thing is that I accidentally stumbled across the “Incidence Reports” on our school website.
November 2011 – “Officer catches two high schoolers who climbed onto the Bay Hall roof.”
“Resident Assistant called Security regarding possible marijuana in Sunderland Hall.”
“Suspicious person was removed from a Lay Hall classroom.”

And those are just some! It’s so awesome to see all the reports, especially when you go back to like 2005 because the reports are super detailed and it says who was drunk and got taken to the hospital with alcohol poisoning, and what these people’s IDs and birthdays are, and everything like that. One of my personal favorites is from January 17, 2005. “Student upset after receiving ticket.” I particularly enjoyed the vocabulary with which he verbally assaulted the officer.

I highly encourage you to check this out and also try and find if your school has anything like that.

Peace out
Cathy

One Response to “There’s a Hash Tag for That”

  1. Morgan Sandberg February 8, 2012 at 5:35 pm #

    This is a great post. (except for not talking to Moritz)
    I also have late class on Valentine’s Day (lab until 10pm) but that’s okay!
    All the girls on my hall with bf’s who live far away are going to see The Vow too, hopefully my new waterproof mascara will hold..

Leave a Reply

