Highly Suspicious Activity

18 Jan

Hey guys. Happy Hump Day. I always hated when other people say it but I find it acceptable when I say it but only because my sole purpose is to annoy other people who hate it.

Christmas break was nice, the first week at home lasted 1000000 years but it was okay, the 10 days in Germany lasted about 5 seconds, and the last week at home lasted about one week so it was nice to see time making sense for once.

I got back on Monday around 6:00 pm. I brought in all my stuff and noticed that we have a new suitemate. First, I was expecting two; second, I was expecting them to be international students; and third, I was expecting them to be new students at Drury. According to the door, the girl (in the singular form)’s name was Hannah, which seems to be a pretty American name. She held the door open for me, which I would expect that any decent human being would do. My roommate (Rachel) and I were surprised to hear a male’s voice in the room later that evening, and Rachel came in from the bathroom to announce that the toilet seat was up. So it’s looking likely that the girl isn’t new, and possibly just got kicked out of her old room by her old roommate. I hope she won’t use the empty room to her advantage and just have sex all the time.

Yesterday I had class at 8am. WTF.

It’s at the farthest building on campus. WTF.

It was 70 degrees Monday and 30 yesterday. WTF.

Anyway, I made it there. The class was photography by the way. It sucked getting ready in the dark and everything because Rachel doesn’t have class until 9:30. When I got to class, there was one girl I kind of knew because she’s friends with Alexis. I’m the only person who has any experience. The class is supposed to be 3 hours on Tuesday and Thursday but today it only lasted 30 minutes. The cool thing is that in the future we are able to get into the building and the photo lab at any time, 24/7 as long as we have an electronic pass.

After that I had computer science lab which wasn’t that fun but at least it was the same class as last semester so it was okay and my old math teacher brought us little delicious apple tarts randomly.

Then I had Multimedia Production. The teacher is a large black man. I also knew one person in there, not counting the President’s daughter who lives across the hall and has wild parties on school nights. I guess that class will be like broadcasting which will be fun.

Decided to leave the Christmas lights up. Rachel bought some too.

I have done some online job applications: Marshall’s, Panera, Francesca’s Closet, Krispy Kreme, Peach Wave, Perkins, Applebee’s, TGI Fridays, Olive Garden, and the Springfield Library. The Library is the only one that got back to me and said they got my application. I think some of the other places weren’t actually hiring though. I really want the library job though, seems like it would be pretty low stress. Any job that I can have that doesn’t depend on me ringing up peoples’ Christmas turkeys and cat food, would be an upgrade in my opinion.

Also, today I had 3 classes but they’re ones I already had last semester so NBD. My biggest class has about 18 people (that’s my freshman advisement class), Photography has 12, Multimedia has 12, Computer Science has 10 and Spanish has 8. Me gusta that.

Today my advisement teacher informed me and Caitlin that our professor from last semester got placed on medical leave for this semester. I feel a little guilty but she told us not to and that he really needed to get some mental help, fast.

When I came back after my last class, just a while ago, I realized that my bed has been moved. I don’t know why. I texted Rachel and she hasn’t replied. I still don’t know why my bed was moved. There’s nothing over here. I immediately suspected the new suitemate. I went to the bathroom door to see if the handle was locked to keep her out but then I realized that Rachel and I have been locked out of the bathroom from the inside. So I had to go use the public toilet. Also, I looked under my bed because I was afraid for some reason that someone would be hiding under it.

I’ll keep you updated on this thrilling development.

Cathy

Update 1:54pm

Rachel says she came back to the room before me and my bed was like that. Needless to say now I am really freaked the effff out.

Update 8:56pm

I asked my RA about it and she said that maintenance replaced the heating filters (???) and were so courteous as to not move my bed back. Phew. I can sleep tonight.

2 Responses to “Highly Suspicious Activity”

  1. chrisman2college January 18, 2012 at 2:44 pm #

    Being a librarian is the Best!!

  2. morgan January 20, 2012 at 5:51 pm #

    I really hope you don’t have to hear your suite mate have sex. It is very awkward, but loud obnoxious music does drown out some of the noises…..
    Also, no one is hiring anywhere so I wish you the best of luck in finding a job and sleeping through the night without interruptions (:

Leave a Reply

